Brahms: Symphony No. 2 & Haydn Variations

Shipping time: Will not ship until 3/2/2018
Symphony No. 2 Brahms’s Second Symphony is often called his “Pastoral”. It was written during a happy holiday in Pörtschach in 1877. Brahms wrote to his friend in Vienna, the critic Eduard Hanslick: “The Wörthersee is virgin ground. Melodies fly around there, so that you have to take care not to step on them.” The work was premiered by the Vienna Philharmonic under the baton of Hans Richter in December 1877. It was a great success and the third movement had to be repeated. Jukka-Pekka Saraste became principal conductor of the WDR Symphony Orchestra at the beginning of the 2010/11 season. The orchestra and the conductor can already look back at many years of working successfully together. His recordings with WDR Symphony Orchestra for Profil Edition Günter Hänssler have earned him high critical praise, and include Schoenberg’s Pelleas and Melisande, Stravinsky’s The Firebird, Brahms’ Symphonies No. 1 and 3 as well as Mahler’s 5th Symphony.
Item number PH17057
Barcode 881488170573
Release date 3/2/2018
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Brahms: Symphony No. 2 & Haydn Variations, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$8.99 ($9.99)
BRUCKNER: Symphony No. 7 in E major
$15.29 ($16.99)
$10.79 ($11.99)
MOZART: Symphony No. 41 / FALLA: Noches en los jardines de España / STRAVINSKY: Capriccio
$15.29 ($16.99)
Haydn: Symphonies Nos. 6-8
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 23 - Brahms: Variations On A Theme by Haydn PH04063 9/20/2005 $8.99 ($9.99)
BIZET: Symphony No. 1 / L'Arlesienne Suites Nos. 1 and 2 PH04090 8/16/2005 $8.99 ($9.99)
Stravinsky, I.: Firebird Suite / Pulcinella Suite / Prokofiev, S.: Violin Concerto No. 1 PH04056 8/16/2005 $8.99 ($9.99)
Mozart: Symphonies Nos. 28 and 35, "Haffner" - Der Schauspieldirektor PH04050 8/16/2005 $8.99 ($9.99)
Mozart, W.A.: Serenade No. 7, "Haffner" / Bella Mia Fiamma PH04053 7/19/2005 $8.99 ($9.99)
Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 PH04058 7/19/2005 $10.79 ($11.99)
Out of stock
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items