Croce: Motetti & Sacrae Cantiones

Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99) - Out of stock

Venice, July 1603: Giovanni Croce, known as ‘il Chiozzotto’, a priest at the church of Santa Maria Formosa, was appointed maestro di cappella of St Mark’s basilica, one of the most prestigious posts in the musical world of the time. A controversial biography, many aspects of which have not yet been elucidated, and a musical output of excellent quality constitute the appeal of this composer born in Chioggia, who is still overshadowed today by his famous successors. Yet Giovanni Croce proves to be an extraordinary figure, halfway between the conservative Venetian school of Gioseffo Zarlino and the modernism of Claudio Monteverdi. He makes masterly use of double chorus and of such special devices as echo effects, while maintaining a fine transparency in his counterpoint that links him with classical polyphony. Two exceptional young Swiss ensembles, the vocal group Voces Suaves (which has won several prizes for its first two recordings) and the instrumental ensemble Concerto Scirocco, combine here in the magnificent surroundings of the palatine basilica of Santa Barbara in Mantua, where they have the advantage of the outstanding Antegnati organ built in 1565, to honour Giovanni Croce and his contemporaries and introduce us to other aspects of the glorious musical activity at St Mark’s.
Item number A439
Barcode 3760195734391
Release date 10/27/2017
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Croce: Motetti & Sacrae Cantiones, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Daza: El Parnasso
$17.09 ($18.99)
Nel giardino di Partenope: Sonate napoletane per violoncello
$34.19 ($37.99)
J.S. Bach: Cello Suites & Viola da Gamba Sonatas
$17.09 ($18.99)
Platti: Concerti per il Cembalo Obligato
EN HARMONIE A374 4/29/2014 $17.09 ($18.99)
Westhoff: 6 Partitas for Solo Violin A354 1/1/2010 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
SVSO in Italia Bella A320 7/14/2009 $17.09 ($18.99)
Nox Lux A307 7/14/2009 $17.09 ($18.99)
Insula Feminarum A311 7/14/2009 $17.09 ($18.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Haydn: Sonates et variations pour le pianoforte A352 1/1/2009 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items