Add To Wish List + $22.49 ($24.99) - Out of stock

Kyle Gann’s Hyperchromatica is a work in seventeen movements, lasting two hours and 35 minutes, for three microtonally tuned Disklaviers (computer-driven pianos). It would be more accurate, actually, to think of this not as music for three pianos, but for one piano with 243 keys. In addition to the microtonality, most of the pieces also use polytempo structures and other rhythmic difficulties that would make performance by human players impossible. The fusion of microtonality and polytempo that Gann began in his work ‘Custer and Sitting Bull’ reaches a second climax here.Kyle Gann, born 1955 in Dallas, Texas, is a composer and was new-music critic for the Village Voice from 1986 to 2005. Since 1997 he has taught music theory, history, and composition at Bard College, where he is the Taylor Hawver and Frances Bortle Hawver Professor of Music. Gann studied composition with Ben Johnston, Morton Feldman, and Peter Gena, and his music is often microtonal, using up to 37 pitches per octave. His rhythmic language, based on differing successive and simultaneous tempos, was developed from his study of Hopi, Zuni, and Pueblo Indian musics. His music has been performed on the New Music America, Bang on a Can, and Spoleto festivals.
Item number OM1025-2
Barcode 0650348952709
Release date 3/23/2018
Category Classical Music
Number of units 2
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Hyperchromatica, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
A Sweeter Music
$15.29 ($16.99)
Since when has the Bright Moon existed?
$25.19 ($27.99)
Grey: Sands of Time (Live)
$15.29 ($16.99)
Blitzsein: First Life
Hands Like Waves Unfold OM1011-2 1/4/2008 $15.29 ($16.99)
10 + 2: 12 American Text Sound Pieces OM1006-2 1/27/2004 $15.29 ($16.99)
Ego Scriptor Cantilenae - The Music of Ezra Pound OM1005-2 6/1/2003 $15.29 ($16.99)
ANTHEIL PLAYS ANTHEIL (1942-1952) OM1003-4-2 7/1/2000 $17.99 ($19.99)
Nancarrow: Lost Works, Last Works OM1002-2 1/1/2000 $15.29 ($16.99)
The Virtuoso Pianolist OM1001-2 6/1/1999 $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items