Add To Wish List + $13.49 ($14.99) - Out of stock

First released in 2010, JUPITER DUO showcases music for cello/piano duo, solo piano, and for solo cello by Alla Elana Cohen. She and cellist Sebastian Baverstam make up Jupiter Duo, and have performed together for many years since Baverstam was 12 years old. They perform Cohen’s highly expressive music with an unbridled intensity, and have a reputation for having a close musical connection. Cohen channels her interest in spiritual and mystical ideas into her music. To start, the name “Jupiter Duo” draws from Roman mythology and astrology to describe the close connection between her and Baverstam. Querying the Silence confronts the loneliness and grief in the face of loss and unyielding silence. Third Vigil for cello and piano, originally for orchestra, is a mystical concerto, written with challenging parts especially for Cohen and Baverstam. It tackles the place of humanity in the universe and eternity—the human world being but a residual echo of the spiritual world. In Vol. 1, Ser. 7 of Book of Prayers, Cohen parses the visceral emotions and states of being humanity experiences in trying to connect further with the Divine. The pieces are heart-rending, once again tackling the echo of sound into silence. This is music that should be heard by many. The recordings are excellent and were made in Jordan Hall at the New England Conservatory, beautifully capturing both piano and cello.
Item number RR7978
Barcode 636160195791
Release date 1/12/2018
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like JUPITER DUO, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Tracer: Recent Chamber Works
$15.29 ($16.99)
Concerti for Piano with Percussion Orchestra
$15.29 ($16.99)
Amos Elkana: Casino Umbro
$15.29 ($16.99)
From Moog to Mac
Brickman: Winter & Construction RR7823 4/24/2012 $15.29 ($16.99)
Sprezzatura RR7818 10/25/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
McDuo RR7814 7/26/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
The Music of Gui Sook Lee RR7810 1/25/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
McCormick Percussion Group: Music for Keyboard Percussions RR7804 2/23/2010 $11.69 ($12.99)
Poetzsch, S.: Light On RR7801 1/26/2010 $11.69 ($12.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items