Leroy Shield: Laurel & Hardy – The Original Piano Music

Buy + Add To Wish List + $22.49 ($24.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
This album recreates the atmosphere and feeling of the 1930s comedies from the Hal Roach Studios, the ‘Lot of Fun’ where Laurel & Hardy, Our Gang, Charley Chase, The Boy Friends and Thelma Todd created their biggest successes. These short films were usually enlivened by the catchy background tunes composed by LeRoy Shield (1893-1962). Although the titles of these tunes remained known only to insiders, the music is all too familiar to anyone who ever saw Stan and Ollie embark on one of their doomed journeys. Trained as a classical pianist, Shield eased into the new medium of film music with apparent ease and knocked off dozens of short, catchy background tunes in record time. It is not funny “comedy music” in itself; rather, it ranges from slow, sentimental ballads to uptempo dance numbers. Sometimes, there are echoes of Stravinsky. Tracking down original sheet music took years of detective work. For the first time in history, this cd contains renditions of original piano music and original piano transcriptions made by Shield himself – written before the orchestral versions were recorded – of tunes such as "All Together", "Little Dancing Girl", "Gangway Charlie", "Riding Along", and "The Moon and You". It also contains piano transcriptions of Shield’s background tunes from 1930-31 as originally published as loose-leaf sheet music: "Bells", "You Are The One I Love", "In My Canoe", "On to the Show", "Riding Along" and "Good Old Days". Originally published in 1931 but today impossible to find, the LeRoy Shield Song Album is a collection of ten popular film background tunes transcribed for piano: "Prelude", "Bride’s Song", "Here We Go", "Look at Him Now", "Cascadia", "Dash and Dot", "Let’s Go", "Antics", "Give Us a Hand" and "It Is to Laugh". Finally, this collection includes Simonetto’s piano transcriptions of Shield’s stock music used in various films around 1935-36 and some excerpts from the Our Relations music score, including ‘We’re Just Happy Family’, ‘On a Sunny Afternoon’, ‘Just a Kiss’ and ‘Dancing on the Clouds’. —Piet Schreuders
Item number AE16024
Barcode 634065037192
Release date 12/9/2016
Category Unclassified
Number of units 1
Disc: 1
1 Cascadia
2 Let's Go
3 Antics
4 Dash and Dot
5 Give Us A Hand
6 Look At Him Now
7 Bride's Song
8 Here We Go
9 It Is To Laugh
10 Prelude
11 Ah! 'Tis Love
12 All Together
13 Beautiful Lady
14 Bells
15 By Rote
16 Candy, Candy
17 Confusion
18 Crabtree
19 Dear, With Me
20 Fliver Flops
21 Gangway Charlie
22 Garden Gaieties
23 Good Old Days
24 Here Are The Pets
25 If It Were Only True
26 In My Canoe
27 Intermezzo
28 Little Dancing Girl
29 The Moon And You
30 On to the Show
31 The One I Love Best
32 Riding Along
33 Why! The Old Flirt
34 Winding Path
35 You Are the One I Love
36 Bassooning
37 Beer Barons
38 Colonel Buckshot
39 Cops
40 Dog Song
41 Excitement
42 Goofs (the complete set)
43 Going Places
44 Nothing At All
45 Slouching ('Rocking')
46 Snowing
47 Tip-Toes
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Leroy Shield: Laurel & Hardy – The Original Piano Music, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$44.99 ($49.99)
$29.69 ($32.99)
$26.99 ($29.99)
$26.99 ($29.99)
GERRY MULLIGAN SEXTET 101725 6/25/2013 $26.99 ($29.99)
JENUFA. OPERA IN 3 ACTS 102751-2 1/1/2013 $13.49 ($14.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
LEGENDS LIVE: DIZZY GILLESPIE 101713 10/30/2012 $22.49 ($24.99)
FROM THE HOUSE OF THE DEAD 102941-2 1/1/1993 $22.49 ($24.99)
CUNNING LITTLE VIXEN 103471-2 1/1/1992 $22.49 ($24.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
STABAT MATER 103561-2 1/1/1988 $22.49 ($24.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items