Los Santos Niños

Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99) - Out of stock

The indefatigable Antonio Florio, along with his associates from Cappella Neapolitana, has succeeded, with a work by Donato Ricchezza, in unearthing another major rediscovery from the Neapolitan Baroque. The labors of Florio – coupled with the ability to turn dry notes on a dusty manuscript into a sumptuous audio feast – can be no better demonstrated than with this release on Glossa of Los Santos Niños: “Oratorio di San Giusto e San Pastore”, written by a composer who was a pupil of the great Francesco Provenzale. Very little else is known about Donato Ricchezza, apart from him bequeathing a quantity of scores to the Oratory of the Girolamini in Naples where he worked. The oratorio relates the story of the defense offered by the “holy children” – the brothers Giusto and Pastore, to be martyred in Spain during the Persecution of Diocletian in 303/4 – against the charge of being Christians, as leveled against them first by a soldier and then by the Roman governor Daciano. Marta Fumagalli (contralto), Federica Pagliuca (soprano), Luca Cervoni (tenor) and Giuseppe Naviglio (bass) vividly occupy these four vocal roles. Meager additional knowledge about Ricchezza says that he wrote eight other oratorios and, as a bonus, an aria from La gara degli elementi is included here, as are a pair of sinfonias by Ricchezza’s contemporary Gaetano Veneziano.
Item number GCD922610
Barcode 8424562226104
Release date 3/23/2018
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Los Santos Niños, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Conradi: Neue Lauten Stucke
$17.09 ($18.99)
Couperin: Pieces de violes
$17.09 ($18.99)
Mr. De Machy: Pieces de Violle
$17.09 ($18.99)
Kellner: Phantasia
Luzzaschi: Madrigali … per cantare et sonare a uno, e doi, e tre soprani GCD920919 10/24/2011 $17.09 ($18.99)
The Spanish Guitar GCD920111 4/25/2011 $31.49 ($34.99)
Abel, C.F.: Viola Da Gamba Suites GCD920410 3/2/2009 $17.09 ($18.99)
Monteverdi, C.: Madrigals, Book 8 (La Venexiana) GCD920928 10/31/2005 $35.99 ($39.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Chamber Music - Milan, L. / Aranes, J. / Mudarra, A. / Guerrero, F. / Martin Y Coll, A. / Ribera, A. / Ortiz, D. GCD920207 5/9/2005 $17.09 ($18.99)
MOZART, W.A.: Clarinet Concerto in A major / La clemenza di Tito / Adagio in B-Flat Major / Maurerische Trauermusik (Orchestra of the 18th Century) GCD921107 6/2/2002 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items