Saint-Saëns: Symphonic Poems

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
While the invention of the symphonic poem is credited to Franz Liszt, French composer Camille Saint-Saens truly took the genre to a new level. The symphonic poem became popular in France in the early 1870s, supported by the newly founded Societe Nationale and its promotion of young French composers. Camille Saint-Saens composed his Le rouet d’Omphale in 1872, with three more soon following. The most famous was his Danse macabre. In all of these works he experiments with orchestration and thematic transformation. In this new release, the Orchestre National de Lille does a service to their fellow countryman, with Jun Markl as their faithful leader at the helm.
Item number 8573745
Barcode 747313374571
Release date 12/1/2017
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Märkl, Jun
Orchestra Orchestre National de Lille
Disc: 1
Phaéton, Op. 3900:08:00
1 Phaéton, Op. 39, R. 170 00:08:20 Orchestre National de Lille Märkl, Jun
Marche héroïque, Op. 3400:06:45
2 Marche héroïque, Op. 34, R. 168 00:06:45 Orchestre National de Lille Märkl, Jun
La Jeunesse d'Hercule, Op. 5000:15:57
3 La jeunesse d'Hercule, Op. 50, R. 172 00:15:57 Orchestre National de Lille Märkl, Jun
Le Rouet d'Omphale, Op. 3100:08:00
4 Le rouet d'Omphale, Op. 31, R. 169 00:08:05 Orchestre National de Lille Märkl, Jun
Sarabande et Rigaudon, Op. 9300:06:00
5 Sarabande et rigaudon, Op. 93: Sarabande 00:06:24 Orchestre National de Lille Märkl, Jun
6 Sarabande et rigaudon, Op. 93: Rigaudon 00:02:51 Orchestre National de Lille Märkl, Jun
Danse macabre, Op. 40, R. 17100:07:00
7 Danse macabre, Op. 40, R. 171 00:07:06 Orchestre National de Lille Märkl, Jun
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Saint-Saëns: Symphonic Poems, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
D'Albert: Symphony in F major
$11.69 ($12.99)
Debussy: Préludes, Books 1 & 2 (Orch. P. Breiner)
$8.99 ($9.99)
Messiaen: Et exspecto resurrectionem mortuorum
$11.69 ($12.99)
Debussy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 7
Debussy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 6 8572583 5/31/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
Debussy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 5 8572568 2/22/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 2, "Lobgesang" 8572294 12/14/2010 $8.99 ($9.99)
Debussy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 4 8572297 9/28/2010 $11.69 ($12.99)
Debussy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 3 8572296 3/30/2010 $11.69 ($12.99)
Debussy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 1 8570759 5/27/2008 $11.69 ($12.99)
Out of stock
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items