Speculation on J.S. Bach

Shipping time: Will not ship until 3/2/2018
Johann Sebastian Bach’s chamber music was in constant transition. His few surviving trio sonatas, for the traditional combination of two melody instruments and continuo, likely date from his years in Weimar and Köthen. Bach revisited some of these works in Leipzig, reworking them for concerts at Zimmerman’s coffee house into sonatas for a melody instrument with harpsichord obbligato. Unfortunately, few of these manuscripts survive, leaving us with only later arrangements as rough clues to their original form and instrumentation. Prominent Bach scholars agree that Bach, just as Handel and Telemann, must have made a major contribution to the main genre of 18th century chamber music. In view of this evaluation, there is a particularly unfortunate gap in the catalogue of the Thomaskantor’s works. Our program was conceived as an approximation of some of these lost trio sonatas.
Item number PC10384
Barcode 7619990103849
Release date 3/2/2018
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Speculation on J.S. Bach, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Triebensee, J.: Partitas / Funeral March / Concertino
$17.09 ($18.99)
Krommer, F.: Partitas - Opp. 57, 69, 76
$17.09 ($18.99)
Couperin, F.: Chamber Music
$17.09 ($18.99)
Mozart, W.A.: Serenades - K. 361, 375, 388
Forqueray, A.: Pieces De Viole PC10190 1/1/2012 $22.49 ($24.99)
Chamber Music (German 17th Century) - BECKER, D. / STRUNGK, N.A. / REINCKEN, J.A. / BUXTEHUDE, D. / FORSTER, K. / THEILE, J. (CordArte Ensemble) PC10200 1/1/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
BRAHMS, J.: Viola Sonatas Nos. 1 and 2 / Trio in A minor / 2 Gesange PC10202 1/1/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Treasures: Chamber Music from the Collection of Earl Rudolf Franz Erwein von Schonborn zu Wiesentheid PC10203 1/1/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Danzi, F.: Clarinet Sonata in B-Flat Major / Mendelssohn, Felix: Clarinet Sonata in E-Flat Major (The Romantic Clarinet) PC10204 1/1/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Beethoven: String Quartets Nos. 3-6 PC10205 1/1/2012 $22.49 ($24.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items