1736: The Bach Recital

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The cantor of the Dresden Frauenkirche, Matthias Grünert, reconstructs Bach's great organ concert in Dresden. The fact that the Dresden Frauenkirche is one of the most famous sacred edifices in the world is thanks not least to its immense importance for the history of music. At all times, it was a coveted place for outstanding musicians from all over the world, as was the case for Johann Sebastian Bach, who tried out the new Silbermann organ in a concert in 1736. Unfortunately, there are no records of the works that Bach played. When the church was destroyed during the Second World War, this impressive instrument was also lost. However, the new organ from Kern & fils, built for the newly rebuilt church, is in no way inferior to its acoustically stunning predecessor. Matthias Grünert, the cantor of the Dresden Frauenkirche, set it upon himself to reconstruct Bach's great organ concert from 1736. Using his extensive knowledge of Bach, Dresden and the musical preferences of the 18th century, he has compiled several pieces from the rich fundus of Bach's organ works to create an exciting dramaturgy of what might have actually been heard in the Dresden Frauenkirche 280 years ago.
Item number ROP6140
Barcode 4037408061407
Release date 4/28/2017
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Conductor Grünert, Matthias
Disc: 1
Prelude & Fugue in G Major, BWV 54100:07:53
1 Prelude & Fugue in G Major, BWV 541: Prelude 00:02:43 Grünert, Matthias
2 Prelude & Fugue in G Major, BWV 541: Fugue 00:04:17 Grünert, Matthias
18 Chorales "Leipziger Choräle"00:20:43
3 18 Chorale Preludes: Allein Gott in der Höh', BWV 00:06:55 Grünert, Matthias
6 Chorale Preludes "Schübler-Chorales"00:08:08
4 6 Chorale Preludes "Schübler-Chorales": Wachet auf 00:03:46 Grünert, Matthias
5 6 Chorale Preludes "Schübler-Chorales": Wo soll ic 00:01:29 Grünert, Matthias
6 6 Chorale Preludes "Schübler-Chorales": Wer nur de 00:03:10 Grünert, Matthias
7 6 Chorale Preludes "Schübler-Chorales": Meine Seel 00:02:02 Grünert, Matthias
8 6 Chorale Preludes "Schübler-Chorales": Ach bleib' 00:02:34 Grünert, Matthias
9 6 Chorale Preludes "Schübler-Chorales": Kommst du 00:03:20 Grünert, Matthias
Goldberg Variations, BWV 98800:38:48
10 Goldberg Variations, BWV 988: Aria 00:04:57 Grünert, Matthias
Trio Sonata No. 3 in D Minor, BWV 52700:00:00
11 Trio Sonata No. 3 in D Minor, BWV 527: I. Andante 00:05:34 Grünert, Matthias
12 Trio Sonata No. 3 in D Minor, BWV 527: II. Adagio 00:06:05 Grünert, Matthias
13 Trio Sonata No. 3 in D Minor, BWV 527: III. Vivace 00:04:00 Grünert, Matthias
Toccata & Fugue in D Minor, BWV 538 "Dorian"00:12:00
14 Toccata & Fugue in D Minor, BWV 538 "Dorian": Tocc 00:04:45 Grünert, Matthias
15 Toccata & Fugue in D Minor, BWV 538 "Dorian": Fuga 00:06:36 Grünert, Matthias
Alla breve in D Major, BWV 58900:05:18
16 Alla breve in D Major, BWV 589 00:04:42 Grünert, Matthias
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like 1736: The Bach Recital, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Cherubini: Requiem in C Minor (Live)
$17.09 ($18.99)
Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott
$26.99 ($29.99)
J.S. Bach: Orgelmesse
$17.09 ($18.99)
Bach, Mendelssohn, Reger, Terzakis & Zimmermann: Works for Choir
Die Sauer-Orgel ROP6017 5/28/2013 $17.09 ($18.99)
Widor & Vierne: Organ Symphonies ROP6063 9/25/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Von Bach bis Ellington (Live) ROP2003 8/28/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
J.S. Bach: Cantatas BWV 215, 195 ROP2006 7/31/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Kein schöner' Land ROP1008 7/31/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Psallite, singt und klingt ROP202526 3/27/2012 $26.99 ($29.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items