GREAT CLASSICAL MASTERPIECES - Bestselling Naxos Recordings 1987-2012

Buy + Add To Wish List + $4.49 ($4.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
All of these best-selling titles come from the first 10 years of
the label and feature our most successful artists. Some are still
recording for us, including violinist Takako Nishizaki, the coowner
of the Naxos label; Jeno Jandó, who is busy recording
Bartók’s piano music; Jeremy Summerly and his Oxford
Camerata; and Antoni Wit whose new recordings with the
Warsaw Philharmonic are among the finest in our catalogue.
Norbert Kraft is still active as producer of the Naxos guitar
series and much of our chamber music. Although he no longer
records for Naxos, Stephen Gunzenhauser is still active as a
conductor. Sadly, Zdenek Košler to whom we owe many great
recordings with the Slovak Philharmonic passed away a few
years ago. Others have retired or disappeared altogether from
the musical scene. Therefore, in a way, this compilation is a
tribute to all the artists who made the success of Naxos possible in the early days of the
label. – Klaus Heymann [Founder of Naxos]
Item number 8578217
Barcode 747313821778
Release date 5/29/2012
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Various Artists
Disc: 1
1 Fanfare for the Common Man 00:02:54 Gunzenhauser, Stephen Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra
2 O pastor animarum 00:01:31 Oxford Camerata Summerly, Jeremy
3 Violin Concerto in A Minor, BWV 1041: I. Allegro 00:03:57 Nishizaki, Takako von Dohnányi, Oliver Capella Istropolitana
4 Requiem in D Minor, K. 626: Sequence: Dies irae 00:01:52 Slovak Philharmonic Chorus Košler, Zdenek Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra
5 Piano Sonata No. 14 in C-Sharp Minor, Op. 27, No. 00:05:15 Jandó, Jeno
6 21 Hungarian Dances, WoO 1: Hungarian Dance No. 1 00:03:04 Bogár, István Budapest Symphony Orchestra
7 Piano Concerto No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 18: II. Adagi 00:11:23 Jandó, Jeno Lehel, György Budapest Symphony Orchestra
8 Valses nobles et sentimentales: I. Modere - tres f 00:01:25 Jean, Kenneth Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra
9 Carmina Burana: O Fortuna 00:02:39 Slovak Philharmonic Chorus Gunzenhauser, Stephen Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra
10 3 Utwory w dawnym stylu (3 Pieces in Old Style): N 00:03:20 Wit, Antoni Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra
11 Concierto de Aranjuez: I. Allegro con spirito 00:06:18 Kraft, Norbert Ward, Nicholas Northern Chamber Orchestra
12 Water Music: Suite No. 2 in D Major, HWV 349: II. 00:03:00 Warchal, Bohdan Capella Istropolitana
13 3 Gymnopedies: No. 1. Lent et douloureux 00:02:43 Körmendi, Klára
14 The 4 Seasons: Violin Concerto in E Major, Op. 8, 00:03:34 Nishizaki, Takako Gunzenhauser, Stephen Capella Istropolitana
15 Serenade No. 13 in G Major, K. 525, "Eine kleine N 00:02:58 Sobotka, Wolfgang Capella Istropolitana
16 Requiem, Op. 48: Sanctus 00:03:29 Carey, Colm Oxford Camerata Oxford Schola Cantorum Summerly, Jeremy
17 Piano Concerto in F Major: III. Allegro agitato 00:06:48 Selby, Kathryn Hayman, Richard Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra
18 Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op. 95, B. 178, "From t 00:11:08 Gunzenhauser, Stephen Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like GREAT CLASSICAL MASTERPIECES - Bestselling Naxos Recordings 1987-2012, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Voices of Earth and Air
$11.69 ($12.99)
Lei Liang: Verge - Tremors of a Memory Chord
$8.99 ($9.99)
Górecki: Little Requiem for a Certain Polka - Concerto-Cantata - Harpsichord Concerto - 3 Dances
$8.99 ($9.99)
Kagel: Das Konzert - Phantasiestück - Pan
Salva: Cello Concerto - 3 Arias 8572509 3/27/2012 $8.99 ($9.99)
MYSTIC CLASSICS - Visionary Choral and Orchestral Masterpieces 8570225-26 10/26/2010 $23.39 ($25.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Berio: Sequenzas I-XIV (Complete) 8557661-63 5/16/2006 $35.09 ($38.99)
SPANISH GUITAR 8557122-23 11/1/2002 $17.99 ($19.99)
DVORAK: Four-Hand Piano Music, Vol. 1 8553137 8/22/1996 $8.99 ($9.99)
Few in stock Buy +
WEDDING MUSIC 8550790 12/8/1993 $8.99 ($9.99)
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items