Jonathan Dove: Song Cycles

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Jonathan Dove is one of Britain’s most resourceful and versatile contemporary composers, whose affinity for vocal setting is especially striking. From the operatic canvas of his acclaimedFlight to his song cycles, his acutely perceptive approach to texts is unmistakable. Out of Winter, written in collaboration with Dove, is the late Sir Robert Tear’s poetic response to Thomas Hardy’s Winter Words. Cut My Shadow is a powerful and harrowing setting of three Lorca texts notable for a sense of constant unease and longing for a homeland. All You Who Sleep Tonight, to poems by Vikram Seth, is elegant, moving, and witty whilst Ariel explores Shakespeare’s elusive character from The Tempest in a rôle for unaccompanied soprano.
Item number 8573080
Barcode 747313308071
Release date 8/12/2014
Category Vocal
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Booth, Claire
Bardon, Patricia
Spence, Nicky
Matthews-Owen, Andrew
Disc: 1
Out of Winter00:18:47
1 Out of Winter: Song I 00:04:24 Spence, Nicky Matthews-Owen, Andrew
2 Out of Winter: Song II 00:03:34 Spence, Nicky Matthews-Owen, Andrew
3 Out of Winter: Song III 00:01:01 Spence, Nicky Matthews-Owen, Andrew
4 Out of Winter: Song IV 00:04:00 Spence, Nicky Matthews-Owen, Andrew
5 Out of Winter: Song V 00:03:08 Spence, Nicky Matthews-Owen, Andrew
6 Out of Winter: Song VI 00:02:40 Spence, Nicky Matthews-Owen, Andrew
Cut My Shadow00:10:23
7 Cut My Shadow: No. 1, Surprise 00:03:03 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
8 Cut My Shadow: No. 2, The Guitar 00:03:22 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
9 Cut My Shadow: No. 3, Song of the Dry Orange Tree 00:03:58 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
10 Ariel: No. 1, Come unto These Yellow Sands 00:05:53 Booth, Claire
11 Ariel: No. 2, I Boarded the King's Ship! 00:05:38 Booth, Claire
12 Ariel: No. 3, O, O, O 00:02:03 Booth, Claire
13 Ariel: No. 4, All Hail, Great Master! 00:02:16 Booth, Claire
14 Ariel: No. 5, Is There More Toil? 00:03:53 Booth, Claire
All You Who Sleep Tonight00:22:15
15 All You Who Sleep Tonight: No. 1, Condition 00:01:17 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
16 All You Who Sleep Tonight: No. 2, Telephone 00:01:07 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
17 All You Who Sleep Tonight: No. 3, Across 00:01:54 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
18 All You Who Sleep Tonight: No. 4, Prandial Plaint 00:00:45 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
19 All You Who Sleep Tonight: No. 5, Interpretation 00:01:26 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
20 All You Who Sleep Tonight: No. 6, Mistaken 00:02:00 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
21 All You Who Sleep Tonight: No. 7, God's Love 00:00:45 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
22 All You Who Sleep Tonight: No. 8, Dark Road 00:01:21 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
23 All You Who Sleep Tonight: No. 9, Door 00:02:35 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
24 All You Who Sleep Tonight: No. 10, Night Watch 00:01:56 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
25 All You Who Sleep Tonight: No. 11, Voices 00:01:22 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
26 All You Who Sleep Tonight: No. 12, Soon 00:03:49 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
27 All You Who Sleep Tonight: No. 13, All You Who Sle 00:01:58 Bardon, Patricia Matthews-Owen, Andrew
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Jonathan Dove: Song Cycles, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$8.99 ($9.99)
Hoddinott: Landscapes
$8.99 ($9.99)
Lamenti Barocchi, Vol. 3
$8.99 ($9.99)
Lamenti Barocchi, Vol. 2
$11.69 ($12.99)
On the Way To Bethlehem: Music of the Medieval Pilgrim
Mahler: Das Lied von der Erde 8550933 7/12/1995 $8.99 ($9.99)
ALFONSO X: Cantigas de Santa Maria 8553133 6/7/1995 $11.69 ($12.99)
Few in stock Buy +
SPIRITUALS 8553036 4/5/1995 $8.99 ($9.99)
Schubert: Lieder 8550476 7/30/1992 $8.99 ($9.99)
Few in stock Buy +
BACH, J.S.: Soprano Cantatas, BWV 199, 202 and 209 8550431 4/14/1992 $8.99 ($9.99)
Romantic Song Cycles 8550400 8/3/1990 $11.69 ($12.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items