40 Years of Contemporary Music

Buy + Add To Wish List + $13.49 ($14.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Since composer, conductor and musicologist Alicia Terzian founded Grupos Encuentros in 1978, the six-person group has garnered international acclaim for its success at bringing the music of avant-garde Argentinian and Latin American composers to the world. On 40 Years of Contemporary Music, the group combines compositions from such well-known Latin American composers as Heitor Villa-Lobos, Alberto Ginaslera, and Terzian herself with works by an international array of composers that ranges from Anton Weber to Luciano Berio to Franz Schreker to Pierre Boulez. Grupo Encuentros consists of mezzo soprano Marta Blanco, pianist Claudio Espetor, flutist Fabio Mazzetelli, clarinetist Matias Tchicourel, violinist Sergio Polizzi and violoncellist Carlos Nozzi. The program presented on 40 Years of Contemporary Music originally premiered at the annual Encuentros International Festival in Buenos Aires and truly highlights the brilliance of these award-winning musicians, who have earned high praise from such media outlets as the Los Angeles Times, where they were lauded as “deeply serious and challenging.” Over their 40 year-long career, the group has performed at dozens of prestigious venues, including London’s Royal Albert Hall and New York City’s Merkin Auditorium. 40 Years of Contemporary Music transcends cultural boundaries with such selections as Villa-Lobos’ Choro No. 7, which unites the sounds of Amerindian primitivism with the polkas and waltzes of suburban dance halls in Brazil. Emphasizing her status as a renowned ethnomusicologist, Terzian dedicates her composition Yagua de Uca to the Chinguano and Chanel peoples, who belong to a lost indigenous northwestern Argentinian culture. O King was composed the same year as the assassination of Martin Luther King, a tragedy which deeply affected its Italian composer Luciano Berio. Grupo Encuentros founder Alicia Terzian has composed over 80 compositions for orchestras, orchestras with soloists, and chamber orchestras with and without soloists, musical theater, and multimedia. She travels the world giving seminars on composition and contemporary chamber music at universities and is often invited to participate on juries at international compositions.
Item number NV6172
Barcode 896931004725
Release date 7/13/2018
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Espector, Claudio
Classical Composer Terzian, Alicia
Ensemble Grupo Encuentros
Disc: 1
Chôros No. 7, "Settiminio"00:09:00
1 Chôro No. 7 "Settimino" 00:09:20 Terzian, Alicia Grupo Encuentros
Pampeana No. 2, Op. 2100:09:00
2 Pampeana No. 2, Op. 21 00:09:07 Nozzi, Carlos Espector, Claudio
8 Early Songs00:20:00
3 8 Jungen Lieder: No. 1, Tief von Fern 00:01:17 Blanco, Marta Espector, Claudio
4 8 Jungen Lieder: No. 2, Aufblick 00:02:47 Blanco, Marta Espector, Claudio
5 8 Jungen Lieder: No. 3, Blümengrus 00:01:24 Blanco, Marta Espector, Claudio
6 8 Jungen Lieder: No. 4, Bild der Liebe 00:01:57 Blanco, Marta Espector, Claudio
7 8 Jungen Lieder: No. 5, Sommerabend 00:02:17 Blanco, Marta Espector, Claudio
8 8 Jungen Lieder: No. 6, Heiter 00:01:21 Blanco, Marta Espector, Claudio
9 8 Jungen Lieder: No. 7, Der Tod 00:01:18 Blanco, Marta Espector, Claudio
10 8 Jungen Lieder: No. 8, Heimgang in der Frühe 00:05:14 Blanco, Marta Espector, Claudio
Yagua-Ya Yuca00:05:00
11 Yagua-Ya Yuca 00:05:00 Yepes, Arauco
O King00:05:00
12 O King 00:05:07 Terzian, Alicia Grupo Encuentros
Dérive I00:07:00
13 Dérive I 00:07:30 Terzian, Alicia Grupo Encuentros
Les yeux fertiles00:07:00
14 Les yeux fertiles 00:07:20 Terzian, Alicia Grupo Encuentros
Der Wind00:11:00
15 Der Wind 00:10:39 Terzian, Alicia Grupo Encuentros
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like 40 Years of Contemporary Music, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Hans Bakker: The Unnamed Source
$15.29 ($16.99)
Petty, Homans & Stewart: Tendrils
$15.29 ($16.99)
Curt Cacioppo: Italia
$15.29 ($16.99)
Carollo: Transcendence in the Age of War, Saggese Guitar Suite, String Quintet No. 1, Fear of Angst & Desiderio
Sandred, O.: Cracks and Corrosion Nos. 1 and 2 / Amanzule Voices / The Third Perspective / Whirl of Leaves NV5814 6/30/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Martino, D.: Fantasies and Impromptus / Piano Trio / Serenata Concertante / Peyton, M.: Elegy / Homans, P.: Quintino NV5811 5/26/2009 $22.49 ($24.99)
Copland, A.: Clarinet Concerto / Mckinley, W.T.: Clarinet Duets / Concerto for 2 Clarinets NV5812 5/26/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Sacks, J.: 5Th (S)Eason / Litanies / Sagittarius Rising / Sirian Blue / Ghost Horses NV5802 4/28/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Navarette, N.: Polaris / Jenkins, K.: Palladio / Yazigi, M.: Roads / Anneken, U.: The Woods / Courduvelis, J.: Like It Is NV5808 4/28/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Spratlan, L.: In Memoriam / Streaming NV5810 4/28/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items