Bright Sheng: Northern Lights

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Acclaimed Chinese/American composer Bright Sheng has been fascinated by folk music for his entire career and Northern Lights is his first work to use Scandinavian folk music, exploring its kinship with American sources such as Appalachian and Bluegrass music. Inspired by ancient Chinese poetry, Melodies of a Flute captures deep and sensuous moods of love and longing, while Hot Pepper refers to the spicy cuisine of Si Chuan province. Bright Sheng combines Chinese and Western musical ideas to create luminous, deeply expressive and rhythmic scores, giving new meaning to the idea of music as a universal language.
Item number 8579014
Barcode 747313901470
Release date 7/14/2017
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Various Artists
Disc: 1
Northern Lights00:22:14
1 Northern Lights: I. Eighth Note = 88 00:06:43 Schwarz, Julian Bournaki, Marika
2 Northern Lights: II. Quarter Note = 69 00:04:03 Schwarz, Julian Bournaki, Marika
3 Northern Lights: III. Quarter Note = 63-66 00:07:37 Schwarz, Julian Bournaki, Marika
4 Northern Lights: IV. Quarter Note = 144-152 00:03:54 Schwarz, Julian Bournaki, Marika
Melodies of a Flute00:16:50
5 Melodies of a Flute: I. Flute and Phoenix 00:12:12 Schwarz, Julian Cheung, Pius Cheung, Pius Zhu, Dan Son, Yoobin Son, Yoobin
6 Melodies of a Flute: II. Lotus Flowers 00:04:40 Schwarz, Julian Cheung, Pius Cheung, Pius Zhu, Dan Son, Yoobin Son, Yoobin
4 Movements for Piano Trio00:11:12
7 4 Movements for Piano Trio: I. Eighth Note = 54 00:04:04 Sheng, Bright Lee, Trey Chui-yee Zhu, Dan
8 4 Movements for Piano Trio: II. Quarter Note = 72 00:02:26 Sheng, Bright Lee, Trey Chui-yee Zhu, Dan
9 4 Movements for Piano Trio: III. Quarter Note = 11 00:02:55 Sheng, Bright Lee, Trey Chui-yee Zhu, Dan
10 4 Movements for Piano Trio: IV. Eighth Note = 66 " 00:04:08 Sheng, Bright Lee, Trey Chui-yee Zhu, Dan
Sweet May Again00:09:24
11 Sweet May Again 00:09:25 Black, Robert Cheung, Pius
Hot Pepper00:09:15
12 Hot Pepper: I. Eighth Note = 50-52 00:05:13 Cheung, Pius Zhu, Dan
13 Hot Pepper: II. Eighth Note = 126-144 00:04:04 Cheung, Pius Zhu, Dan
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Bright Sheng: Northern Lights, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Voices of Earth and Air
$8.99 ($9.99)
Saint-Saens: Music for Wind Instruments
$8.99 ($9.99)
Ysaye, E.: String Trio, "Le Chimay" / Sonata for 2 Violins / Cello Sonata
$8.99 ($9.99)
LAMPEL, D.: Chamber Music - String Quartet / String Sextet / Piano Sonata / Violin Sonata / Prelude and Chaconne, "Homage to Bach"
TOGNI, C.: 3 Studies on Morts sans sepulture / Flute Sonata / Violin Sonata / String Trio (Ex Novo Ensemble) 8572074 2/24/2009 $8.99 ($9.99)
French Music for Harp & Strings 8555328 9/1/2001 $8.99 ($9.99)
Poulenc: Sextet / Trio / Oboe Sonata / Flute Sonata 8553611 2/1/2000 $11.69 ($12.99)
FALLA: Popular Spanish Suite / Piano Pieces / Harpsichord Concerto 8554366 6/17/1998 $8.99 ($9.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Bach, C.P.E.: Sonatas for Flute and Harpsichord, Wq. 83-87 8550513 3/20/1992 $8.99 ($9.99)
Rameau: Pieces de clavecin en concerts 8550464 3/1/1991 $11.69 ($12.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items