Dittersdorf: 3 Ovid Sonatas for Fortepiano 4 Hands

Buy + Add To Wish List + $8.99 ($9.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
In 1781 Carl Ditters von Dittersdorf conceived a ground-breaking, multi-media project to compose and have published a series of fifteen symphonies based on Ovid’s Metamorphoses. Each symphony was to be graced by newly commissioned engravings and synopses. In the event, only six symphonies were published (and without engravings) and these are the only works from the set to survive in orchestral form. The works heard here are four-hand arrangements of three of the lost symphonies, possibly Dittersdorf’s attempt to salvage something from the project. These fascinating works juxtapose conventional structures with fluid, unconventional music transforming Ovid’s ‘tableaux’ into dramatic structures teeming with incident and wit.
Item number 8573740
Barcode 747313374076
Release date 8/11/2017
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Tibbles, James
Tsalka, Michael
Disc: 1
Ajax et Ulysse (version for keyboard 4 hands)00:20:00
1 Ajax et Ulysse: I. Allegro moderato 00:04:19 Tibbles, James Tsalka, Michael
2 Ajax et Ulysse: II. Recitativo andante 00:06:01 Tibbles, James Tsalka, Michael
3 Ajax et Ulysse: III. Minuetto 00:03:14 Tibbles, James Tsalka, Michael
4 Ajax et Ulysse: IV. Allegro molto 00:05:11 Tibbles, James Tsalka, Michael
Hercule changé en Dieu (version for keyboard 4 han00:17:53
5 Hercule changé en Dieu: I. Allegro e vivace 00:05:27 Tibbles, James Tsalka, Michael
6 Hercule changé en Dieu: II. Adagio non troppo 00:04:00 Tibbles, James Tsalka, Michael
7 Hercule changé en Dieu: III. Tempo di menuetto 00:02:59 Tibbles, James Tsalka, Michael
8 Hercule changé en Dieu: IV. Vivace 00:05:19 Tibbles, James Tsalka, Michael
Jason, qui emporte la Toison d'or (version for key00:18:57
9 Jason, qui emporte la toison d'or: I. Largo ma non 00:05:45 Tibbles, James Tsalka, Michael
10 Jason, qui emporte la toison d'or: II. Andante 00:04:19 Tibbles, James Tsalka, Michael
11 Jason, qui emporte la toison d'or: III. Minuetto 00:02:50 Tibbles, James Tsalka, Michael
12 Jason, qui emporte la toison d'or: IV. Ciaconna 00:05:57 Tibbles, James Tsalka, Michael
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Dittersdorf: 3 Ovid Sonatas for Fortepiano 4 Hands, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
Ries: Romantic Variations, Fantasies and a Rondo
$35.09 ($38.99)
DOWLAND, J.: Lute Music (Complete) (North)
$44.99 ($49.99)
DVORAK: Complete Solo Piano Music
$17.99 ($19.99)
Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition / Balakirev: Islamey 8550044 3/21/1991 $8.99 ($9.99)
Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Nos. 8, 14 and 23 8550045 3/7/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
ROMANTIC PIANO FAVOURITES, Vol. 1 8550052 3/7/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Romantic Piano Favourites, Vol. 2 8550053 3/7/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Nos. 17, 21, and 26 8550054 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Few in stock Buy +
BACH, J.S.: Keyboard Favourites 8550066 2/5/1988 $11.69 ($12.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items