A Musical Journey - Austria / Belgium: A Musical Visit to Salzburg and Vienna, Brussels and Tournai

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The Places • The tour relates to the life of Mozart, from his native Salzburg to his
final precarious independence in Vienna. There are glimpses of the Salzburg
Church of St Peter and of the Cathedral, with which Mozart and his father,
members of the musical establishment of the ruling Prince-Archbishops of
Salzburg, were closely concerned. Memorials of Mozart and other composers are
seen in Vienna, while a brief detour to Belgium to the idiosyncratic Musée Wiertz
and to the Tournai Musée des Beaux Arts, brings another aspect to the journey.
The Music • Mozart’s Requiem Mass was commissioned anonymously in July
1791 by Count Franz Walsegg zu Stuppach, who sought to commemorate the
recent death of his wife by the performance of a work of this kind that he might, at
least by implication, claim as his own. An initial fee of sixty ducats was paid, with
promise of a further sum when the Requiem was completed. But in November
Mozart was taken ill and within a fortnight he was dead. His widow, Constanze,
who needed the rest of the fee for the work, asked Joseph Eybler, who had
assisted Mozart in rehearsals for Così fan tutte, to finish the composition and the
scoring. He later gave up the task and the unfinished score finally came into the
hands of Franz Xaver Süssmayr, so that the best known form of the Requiem is
that started by Mozart, continued briefly by Eybler and completed by Süssmayr.
Item number 2110333
Barcode 747313533350
Release date 8/28/2012
Category Classical Music
Media type DVD VIDEO
Number of units 1
Disc: 1
1 Austria and Belgium: A Musical Visit to Salzburg a 00:00:00
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like A Musical Journey - Austria / Belgium: A Musical Visit to Salzburg and Vienna, Brussels and Tournai, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
A Musical Journey - Ravenna, Venice and Faenza
$11.69 ($12.99)
$17.99 ($19.99)
COPLAND, A.: City (The) (NTSC)
$22.49 ($24.99)
MUSSORGSKY, M.: Pictures at an Exhibition (arr. L. Stokowski) / SEREBRIER, J.: Symphony No. 3, "Symphonie mystique" (NTSC)
WOLF-FERRARI, E.: Vedova scaltra (La) (La Fenice, 2007) (NTSC) 2110234-35 6/24/2008 $35.99 ($39.99)
DONIZETTI: Roberto Devereux (Bergamo Musica Festival, 2006) (NTSC) 2110232 5/27/2008 $26.99 ($29.99)
Few in stock Buy +
NAXOS 20TH ANNIVERSARY CONCERT (NTSC) 2110227 5/27/2008 $13.49 ($14.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
ROSSINI: Cambiale di matrimonio (La) (Rossini Opera Festival, Pesaro, 2006) (NTSC) 2110228 3/25/2008 $26.99 ($29.99)
VERDI, G.: Luisa Miller (La Fenice, 2006) (NTSC) 2110225-26 3/25/2008 $35.99 ($39.99)
MONTEVERDI: Full Monteverdi (The) - Madrigals, Book 4 (NTSC) 2110224 1/29/2008 $17.99 ($19.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items