A Solo

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Pandolfo takes the listener on a journey across European gamba music from its beginnings in the 16th century in Italy and Spain, including music by Diego Ortiz, its adoption into the Stuart psyche in the British Isles through Tobias Hume, William Corkine and Richard Sumarte, onto its age of supreme elegance with Marin Marais and M. de Machy in the times of Louis XIV in France, and thence to the 18th-century German Courts, nourished by French and Italian influences, and expressed in a wholly original way by JS Bach (Pandolfo’s transcription of his fourth Cello Suite) and by the “swansong” style of CF Abel. Topped and tailed by Pandolfo’s own, heartfelt, contributions to the instrument’s repertory, A solo harnesses virtuosity worn lightly with the power of a stringed instrument to “sing” and to make harmony. Fêted by critics when it was first issued, but for some time now unavailable, the recording is happily being reissued on Glossa as a testament to the unique contribution that Paolo Pandolfo continues to make to the art of music-making.
Item number GCDP30403
Barcode 8424562304031
Release date 6/24/2014
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Pandolfo, Paolo
Disc: 1
1 Aria della Monicha (With Variations by P. Pandolfo 00:06:03 Pandolfo, Paolo
2 Pass'emezzo antico 00:02:20 Pandolfo, Paolo
3 Pass'emezzo moderno 00:01:17 Pandolfo, Paolo
4 The Punckes Delight 00:02:10 Pandolfo, Paolo
5 A Pavan 00:04:46 Pandolfo, Paolo
6 Daphne 00:02:03 Pandolfo, Paolo
7 Whoope Doe Me No Harm 00:02:47 Pandolfo, Paolo
8 Come Live with Me 00:04:06 Pandolfo, Paolo
9 Prelude 00:03:11 Pandolfo, Paolo
10 Pièces de viole, Book 4: Le Badinage 00:04:06 Pandolfo, Paolo
11 Les voix humaines 00:03:35 Pandolfo, Paolo
12 Aire en rondeau 00:02:26 Pandolfo, Paolo
13 Cello Suite No. 4 in E-Flat Major, BWV 1010: I. Pr 00:04:18 Pandolfo, Paolo
14 Cello Suite No. 4 in E-Flat Major, BWV 1010: II. A 00:04:31 Pandolfo, Paolo
15 Cello Suite No. 4 in E-Flat Major, BWV 1010: III. 00:03:37 Pandolfo, Paolo
16 Cello Suite No. 4 in E-Flat Major, BWV 1010: IV. S 00:04:01 Pandolfo, Paolo
17 Cello Suite No. 4 in E-Flat Major, BWV 1010: V. Bo 00:02:55 Pandolfo, Paolo
18 Cello Suite No. 4 in E-Flat Major, BWV 1010: VI. G 00:01:37 Pandolfo, Paolo
19 Arpeggiata (Prelude) 00:02:25 Pandolfo, Paolo
20 27 Pieces for Viola da Gamba, WKO 186-212: Adagio 00:05:31 Pandolfo, Paolo
21 Allegro 00:04:39 Pandolfo, Paolo
22 A Solo (Tombeau) 00:04:54 Pandolfo, Paolo
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like A Solo, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$26.99 ($29.99)
Telemann: Fantasias for viola da gamba
$17.09 ($18.99)
Couperin: Pieces de violes
$17.09 ($18.99)
Conradi: Neue Lauten Stucke
$17.09 ($18.99)
Mr. De Machy: Pieces de Violle
Kellner: Phantasia GCD920112 2/6/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
The Spanish Guitar GCD920111 4/25/2011 $31.49 ($34.99)
Abel, C.F.: Viola Da Gamba Suites GCD920410 3/2/2009 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Pandolfo, P.: Viola Da Gamba Music (Improvisando) GCDP30409 11/27/2006 $17.09 ($18.99)
Bach, J.S.: Cello Suites Nos. 1-6 GCDP30405 2/7/2005 $31.49 ($34.99)
Out of stock
Pandolfo, P.: Baghdad's Spring / Metamorphosis / Il Sogno Di Proserpina / Brothers / La Florentine / Prairies (Travel Notes) GCDP30407 5/10/2004 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items