Adams: Piano Music

Buy + Add To Wish List + $10.79 ($11.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
John Adams has won listeners from far beyond the traditional classical world thanks to his energy over the course of more than half a century in writing music that speaks directly to hearts and minds with undiminished energy, reflecting contemporary concerns and technologies while also crafted with traditional finesse. As well as a composer he has been an active promoter and performer – not only of his own music but of his contemporaries and those who exercised a decisive influence on him as a student in California, including Debussy and Stravinsky. His parents were both jazz musicians and he grew up in a household where, as he says, ‘Benny Goodman and Mozart were not separated’. There is a corresponding harmony between traditional and modern idioms in his own music. Both written in 1977, Phrygian Gates and its briefer pendant or companion, China Gates, were game-changers for the course of Adams’s music. Although his output for the instrument is not large, it was with the piano that Adams discovered the possibilities of slowly moving, patterned textures that had already seized his attention in the compositions of Steve Reich. These works are performed by Minimal Music pioneer and champion Jeroen van Veen, seconded by his wife Sandra van Veen on second piano in “Hallelujah Junction.”
Item number BRI95388
Barcode 5028421953885
Release date 1/26/2018
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Veen, Jeroen van
Disc: 1
China Gates00:05:00
1 China Gates 00:05:54 Veen, Jeroen van
Phrygian Gates00:25:01
2 Phrygian Gates 00:28:12 Veen, Jeroen van
American Berserk00:06:04
3 American Berserk 00:07:13 Veen, Jeroen van
Hallelujah Junction00:16:48
4 Hallelujah Junction 00:16:00 Veen, Jeroen van Veen, Sandra van
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Adams: Piano Music, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$16.19 ($17.99)
Holt: Incantatie IV for Three Pianos
$22.49 ($24.99)
River Flows in You
$7.19 ($7.99)
Satie: Slow Music
$10.79 ($11.99)
Pärt: Complete Piano Music
JacobTV: Complete Solo Piano Music BRI94873 8/26/2014 $10.79 ($11.99)
Jeroen van Veen: Piano Music BRI9454 6/24/2014 $22.49 ($24.99)
Holt: Canto Ostinato XL BRI9453 3/25/2014 $44.99 ($49.99)
Einaudi: Waves, The Piano Collection BRI9452 1/28/2014 $44.99 ($49.99)
Simeon Ten Holt: Solo Piano Music, Vol. 1-5 BRI9434 3/26/2013 $22.49 ($24.99)
Philip Glass: Solo Piano Music BRI9419 2/26/2013 $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items