Aharonián: Una carta

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Coriún Aharonián’s work is characterized by bold gestures and explosive debates. The intensity of this composer’s active engagement with his historical and contemporary environment gives rise to powerful and energetic sounds rooted in the culture of Latin American political resistance. Aharonián’s entire aesthetic philosophy can be discovered in the smallest space, like a nutshell. His music is characterized by short sequences within a small range, rigorous use of material, lively sound gestures, explosively dramatic densifications, a non-discursive character, stringent rhythmic organization, block-like static constructions, repetition combined with stringent motivic transformation, suspense-filled silence as an aesthetic resource, and richly suggestive activity. Coriún Aharonián (1940–2017) was born in Montevideo, Uruguay, the son of Armenian immigrants who had survived the genocide of 1915. In addition to composing, he was involved in a broad range of artistic and institutional activities promoting resistance to fascist dictatorships.
Item number WER73742
Barcode 4010228737424
Release date 11/15/2019
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Aharonián: Una carta, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Vasks: String Quartets Nos. 2 and 5
$17.09 ($18.99)
Theodorakis: East of the Aegean
$14.39 ($15.99)
WOOD, J.: Stoicheia
$17.09 ($18.99)
HINDEMITH: Works for Cello and Piano, Vol. 2 - Cello Sonata / 3 Leichte Stucke / Kleine Sonata / A frog he went a-courting
Hindemith: Works for Cello and Piano, Vol. 1 - Cello Sonata / 3 Stucke WER60144-50 1/1/1989 $17.09 ($18.99)
LINDE, H.: Music for Two / STOCKHAUSEN: 12 Melodien der Sternzeichen (excerpts) / ZEHM: Serenade / BRINDLE: Hathor at Philae WER60142-50 10/1/1988 $14.39 ($15.99)
PANNKE: Music for Unborn Children SM1074-50 6/1/1988 $14.39 ($15.99)
LIGETI: String Quartets Nos. 1, 2 (Arditti Quartet) WER60079-50 5/1/1988 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
JULLICH, M.: Four Directions (The) SM1070-50 12/1/1987 $14.39 ($15.99)
BROUWER, L.: Variantes / HENZE, H.: 5 Scenes from the Snow Country / HILLER, W.: Katalog IV (Percussion Today) WER60123-50 8/1/1986 $14.39 ($15.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items