Alexander Tchaikovsky: Orchestral Music Volume One

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The Muscovite Alexander Tchaikovsky (b. 1946) – nephew of Boris Tchaikovsky but no relative to Pyotr Ilich – is one of the most highly respected composers at work in Russia today, and yet his music has had little exposure to western audiences. His symphonic style owes something to that of his uncle: it likewise patiently develops enormous power over large expanses of sound, although there is also room for gently ironic touches of nostalgia – an inheritance, perhaps, from his uncle’s teacher, Shostakovich. The monumental Third Symphony (1995–2002), scored for a huge orchestra, is infused with dance rhythms: it uses material from an abandoned ballet based on Dostoyevsky’s The Devils. The Seventh Symphony is very much a work de nos jours: Tchaikovsky composed it during the Covid-19 pandemic, scored it for a socially distanced orchestra of strings, percussion and piano – at which point, as he writes, ‘the virus then took revenge’, and he fell ill himself. The message of the work is clear, as the turmoil of the first movement gives way to a message of hope in the second.
Item number TOCC0587
Barcode 5060113445872
Release date 2/5/2021
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Alexander Tchaikovsky: Orchestral Music Volume One, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Shebalin: Orchestral Music, Vol. 1
$17.09 ($18.99)
Brian: Orchestral Music, Vol. 2
$17.09 ($18.99)
Brian: Orchestral Music, Vol. 1
$17.09 ($18.99)
Spratley, P.: Sinfonietta / Clarinet Concertino, "Byard's Leap" / Recorder Concertino, "A Gallery of Cats" / Suite
Vuori, H.: Symphonies Nos. 1 and 2 TOCC0087 8/12/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
BACEVICIUS: Orchestral Music TOCC0049 5/8/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
MAGI: Orchestral Music TOCC0054 4/10/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
RAYKHELSON: Jazz Suite / Little Symphony in G minor / Reflections / Adagio TOCC0055 4/10/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
MYSLIVECEK: Music for Strings, Vol. 1 - 6 Concertante Symphonies TOCC0023 1/9/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
TOVEY: Symphony in D major / The Bride of Dionysus: Prelude TOCC0033 6/13/2006 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items