Alkan: 12 Etudes, Op. 35

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Perhaps the most enigmatic figure in the history of music as a whole, let alone the nineteenth century, Charles-Valentin Alkan remains one of the most intriguing and alluring names among the pantheon of pianist-composers. As a pianist, he must have been in possession of an almost frightening command of the instrument and it was reputed that he was the only pianist before whom Liszt fell ill-at-ease to perform. The latter reportedly remarked to the Danish pianist Fritz harvigson that Alkan possessed the finest technique he had ever seen yet preferred the life of a recluse. His compositional output is extensive and comprises some of the most extraordinary music conceived for the piano. His mighty Twelve Etudes is the fullest embodiment of his creative powers. Mark Viner is recognized as one of the most exciting British concert pianists of his generation and is becoming increasingly well-known for his bold championing of unfamiliar pianistic terrain. Born in 1989, he began playing at the age of 11 and two years later was awarded a scholarship to enter the Purcell School of Music. He has toured extensively across Europe and the USA, and aside from his busy schedule teaching and performing is a published writer and advocate for the music of Charles-Valentin Alkan.
Item number PCL10127
Barcode 5029365101271
Release date 12/8/2017
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Viner, Mark
Disc: 1
12 Études dans les tons majeurs, Op. 3500:40:33
1 Etude No. 1 in A Major 00:02:26 Viner, Mark
2 Etude No. 2 in D Major 00:02:37 Viner, Mark
3 Etude No. 3 in G Major 00:06:42 Viner, Mark
4 Etude No. 4 in C Major 00:04:45 Viner, Mark
5 Etude No. 5 in F Major, "Allegro barbaro" 00:02:45 Viner, Mark
6 Etude No. 6 in B-Flat Major 00:02:00 Viner, Mark
7 Etude No. 7 in E-Flat Major, "L'incendie au villag 00:10:43 Viner, Mark
8 Etude No. 8 in A-Flat Major 00:05:19 Viner, Mark
9 Etude No. 9 in C-Sharp Major, "Contrapunctus" 00:05:58 Viner, Mark
10 Etude No. 10 in G-Flat Major, "Chant d'amour - Cha 00:10:47 Viner, Mark
11 Etude No. 11 in B Major 00:08:47 Viner, Mark
12 Etude No. 12 in E Major 00:05:30 Viner, Mark
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Alkan: 12 Etudes, Op. 35, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$18.89 ($20.99)
Cecile Chaminade: Piano Music
$15.29 ($16.99)
Liszt: Opera Fantasies
$12.59 ($13.99)
Thalberg: Opera Fantasies
$12.59 ($13.99)
Beethoven: Hammerklavier Sonata, Op. 106, Piano Sonata, Op. 2 No. 3
Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition PCL0023 12/12/2011 $12.59 ($13.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Schumann: Étude symphoniques, Op. 13 & Fantasie, Op. 17 PCL0018 10/10/2011 $12.59 ($13.99)
Schubert: Impromptus PCL0013 7/7/2011 $12.59 ($13.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Kabalevsky: Complete Piano Sonatas PCL0005 5/5/2011 $12.59 ($13.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Brahms: Piano Sonata no. 3 PCL0006 5/5/2011 $12.59 ($13.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
J. S. Bach: Goldberg Variations, BWV 988 PCL0010 5/5/2011 $12.59 ($13.99)

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Buy + $37.78 ($41.98)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items