Antonio Janigro - The Rare Cello Recordings

Buy + Add To Wish List + $20.69 ($22.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Antonio Janigro (1918-1989), the founder and long-term conductor of the Zagreb Soloists, which developed over time into one of the world’s best string orchestras, lives on in the memory; as an outstanding cello virtuoso he set benchmarks with his recordings. He began his studies at the conservatoire in his native city of Milan. Pablo Casals recommended he then go to Paris, where in subsequent years he won six national and international prizes, and where, in 1933, his worldwide career was to begin. After the end of the Second World War Janigro went on to study orchestral direction, and made his debut as a conductor in 1948. In 1954 he founded the Zagreb Soloists, whose reputation grew at such a mercurial pace that the ensemble was given permission, even at the height of the Cold War, to perform on international stages. Janigro was also conductor of the Radio Zagreb Symphony Orchestra (1954-64) and of the Orchestra Dell’Angelicum di Milano. As successor to Karl Ristenpart he headed the Chamber Orchestra of Saarland Radio. He taught at the music universities of Düsseldorf and Stuttgart and at the Mozarteum in Salzburg and was conductor of that institution’s Camerata. Antonio Janigro compiled a wide repertoire both as a soloist and with the Zagreb Soloists, encompassing works by Vivaldi, Corelli and Boccherini as well as the great works of the Viennese Classical School by Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven through to Brahms. He simultaneously ensured that works by contemporary composers were well represented in his concert programmes and as a result premiered some very interesting works by the likes of Krzysztof Penderecki, György Ligeti and Milko Kelemen, who was involved in this very collection, both as composer and arranger.
Item number PH20002
Barcode 881488200027
Release date 3/13/2020
Category Classical Music
Number of units 4
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Antonio Janigro - The Rare Cello Recordings, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
Chopin Edition, Vol. 9
$8.99 ($9.99)
Chopin Edition Vol. 8 - Preludes & Variations
$15.29 ($16.99)
Chopin, F.: Chopin Edition, Vol. 5 - Scherzi / Fantasy / Berceuse / Barcarolle
$15.29 ($16.99)
Chopin, F.: Chopin Edition, Vol. 4 - Etudes
Chopin, F.: Chopin Edition, Vol. 3 - Polonaises PH04069 10/30/2007 $20.69 ($22.99)
Chopin, F.: Chopin Edition, Vol. 2 - Waltzes PH04066 4/24/2007 $10.79 ($11.99)
GUITAR MUSIC PH04025 9/20/2005 $15.29 ($16.99)
HAYDN: Piano Sonatas Nos. 6, 33, 38, 60 / Un piccolo divertimento PH04060 9/20/2005 $8.99 ($9.99)
Out of stock
SPANISH DANCES PH04024 7/19/2005 $8.99 ($9.99)
KORNGOLD: Complete Piano Sonatas PH04083 7/19/2005 $10.79 ($11.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items