Artyomov: In Memoriam, Lamentations, Pietà & Tristia I

Buy + Add To Wish List + $16.19 ($17.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Vyacheslav Artyomov is considered by many to be Russia’s greatest living composer. His music is deep, ultimately spiritual and brilliantly crafted, with influences from the Russian symphonic tradition colored by Mahler, Scriabin, Honegger and Messiaen to name a few – but melded into a unique voice. The Divine Art Artyomov Retrospective is a mix of new recordings and former Melodiya releases. This is the eighth instalment, containing three orchestral works, with an over-arching sorrowful cast – remembering, like his Requiem, the suffering of the Russian peoples under Soviet rule (and for In Memoriam, a tribute to the composer’s mother), and all typifying Artyomov’s true genius as a truly individual composer who can make thoroughly modern music listenable and demanding further regular hearings. Three fine orchestras and conductors, and superb soloists, provide a rich and satisfying program of substantial modern orchestral music.
Item number DDA25175
Barcode 809730517525
Release date 2/8/2019
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Conductor Kitayenko, Dmitri
Orchestra Academic Symphony Orchestra of Moscow State Philha
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Artyomov: In Memoriam, Lamentations, Pietà & Tristia I, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Walton: Viola Concerto - Schnittke: Passacaglia
$16.19 ($17.99)
Jill Crossland plays Mozart, Beethoven & Busoni
$22.49 ($24.99)
Handel: Suites for Harpsichord, Vol. 2
$22.49 ($24.99)
Sounds of the Chionistra
Stevenson: Piano Music DDA 21372 4/30/2013 $29.69 ($32.99)
Cook, J.: Exequy and Elysium DDA21206 3/13/2007 $22.49 ($24.99)
Glass, L.: Piano Music DDA21205 1/2/2007 $22.49 ($24.99)
Schubert, F.: The Piano Masterworks, Vol. 1 DDA21202 10/24/2006 $22.49 ($24.99)
Schubert, F.: The Piano Masterworks, Vol. 2 DDA21203 10/24/2006 $22.49 ($24.99)
Schubert, F.: The Piano Masterworks, Vol. 3 DDA21204 10/24/2006 $22.49 ($24.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items