Bach: Goldberg Variations - Kraggerud: Topelius Variations

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
“Music is always telling a story, even absolute music like the Goldberg Variations. Performance is by definition storytelling”. Henning Kraggerud and the Arctic Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra present Bach`s immortal Goldberg Variations in a brand-new version for chamber orchestra coupled with a new set of variations. Kraggerud wrote his Topelius Variations in 2017 following a commission from the Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra in Finland. He describes his 15-minute score as inspired by Topelius’s life and works; much like Edvard Grieg in his famous musical commemoration of the writer Ludvig Holberg. ‘All the notes and pitches are Bach’s’, Kraggerud says. Together with Bernt Simen Lund in the Arctic Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra he has arranged Bach`s Goldberg Variations all over again for chamber orchestra. In their work they`ve used Bach`s own corrections and additions from his first edition, ignoring additions of supplementary notes and the simplification of certain passages found in other arrangements.
Item number PSC1353
Barcode 7033662013531
Release date 3/1/2019
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Bach: Goldberg Variations - Kraggerud: Topelius Variations, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Britten, B.: Variations On A Theme of Frank Bridge / Prelude and Fugue / Lachrymae / Elegy / Simple Symphony
$17.09 ($18.99)
Tchaikovsky, P.I.: Symphony No. 5
$17.09 ($18.99)
Svendsen, J.: String Octet in A Major / 2 Swedish Folk-Melodies / Romance / Schumann - Abendlied (Music for Strings)
$17.09 ($18.99)
Saeverud, H.: 20 Small Duets for 2 Violins / Violin Concerto / Romanza / Elegie
Grieg, E.: Symphony in C Minor / Symphonic Dances PSC1091 5/1/1992 $17.09 ($18.99)
Strauss, R.: Oboe Concerto in D Major / Martinu, B.: Oboe Concerto / Francaix, J.: L'Horloge De Flore PSC1064 1/10/1992 $17.09 ($18.99)
Mozart, W.A.: Divertimento in B-Flat Major / Britten, B.: Variations On A Theme of Frank Bridge / Tchaikovsky, P.I.: Serenade in C Major PSC1035 1/8/1992 $17.09 ($18.99)
Prokofiev, S.: Piano Concerto No. 3 / Symphony No. 7 PSC1060 1/8/1992 $17.09 ($18.99)
Halvorsen, J.: Norwegian Rhapsodies Nos. 1 and 2 / Svendsen, J.: Norwegian Rhapsodies Nos. 1-4 PSC1085 5/1/1991 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Halvorsen, J.: Symphonies Nos. 2 and 3 PSC1062 5/1/1990 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items