Bach: L'Extase Musicale

Buy + Add To Wish List + $22.49 ($24.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Johann Sebastian Bach? His very name arouses admiration, while his art generally provokes wonder, even ecstasy... To ‘pay homage’ to Bach is to acknowledge his special status – if not the God, at least the Pope of musicians: an unquestionable and unquestioned title. (...) Yet it cannot be denied that, at the end of the Age of Enlightenment, his works were largely unknown. It would take several decades after that for them to enter the repertory. Following four performances during Bach’s lifetime, the St Matthew Passion, one of his greatest masterpieces, was not given again until 1829, under the direction of Mendelssohn. The Brandenburg Concertos were published only in 1850, after being rediscovered in the Berlin archives. And it was not until the early twentieth century that Pablo Casals revived the Cello Suites. (...) A second ‘Bach Revival’ took place in the early 1960s. Its origin? A revolution in performance practice, driven by the Baroque movement embodied by Alfred Deller, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Gustav Leonhardt and many other musicians. Their aim: to play Bach with the instruments of his time, in the style of his time, with the performing forces and instruments he had intended. (...) The artists assembled here have taken this philosophy on board in their interpretations. Whether playing early or modern instruments, they offer us a Bach for today and transport us, if not to ecstasy, at least to the best of all worlds.
Item number ALPHA775
Barcode 3760014197758
Release date 9/24/2021
Category Classical Music
Number of units 3
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Bach: L'Extase Musicale, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Chopin: Mazurkas, Waltzes and Other Dances
$17.09 ($18.99)
BRITTEN: Nocturnal after John Dowland / BACH, J.S.: Partita No. 2 (arr. for lute)
$7.19 ($7.99)
LISZT: Organ Music
$17.09 ($18.99)
COUPERIN, L: Pieces de Clavecin
VERSAILLES - The Enchanted Island ALPHA016 9/1/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Girolamo Frescobaldi - Louis Couperin ALPHA026 9/1/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
BACH, J.S.: Chromatic Fantasy / Chaccone / Toccata ALPHA027 9/1/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
J.S. Bach: Cello Suites Nos. 1-6 ALPHA029 9/1/2007 $25.19 ($27.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
BACH, J.S.: Inventions and Sinfonias, BWV 772-801 ALPHA034 9/1/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
La Conversation ALPHA003 1/1/1999 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items