Bach - Mendelssohn - Shostakovich: 3X6 Preludes and Fugues

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
In the nineteenth century, and certainly in the twentieth, the fugue was already not so common as in the preceding centuries, and today composers choose this form even less often. Perhaps we need the fugue, precisely in these times, more than ever. In public discourse, the willingness to listen to each other is often minimal and it seems that presenting one's own unbending point of view is the primary goal. In a fugal conversation, each voice can present in peace its own version of the theme. After that the speakers may stay autonomous, but they listen to each other and they react respectfully to the statements of their fellow-speakers. The musical discussion, wherein the speaking time is fairly divided, can get quite heated, but, sometimes with a bit of effort, remains able to be followed by the listener. Conflicts, in the form of violent musical dissonance, are not shunned, and the parties in their eagerness sometimes don't let each other finish their sentences (the stretto). Should the voices not reach a harmonious conclusion, the musical discourse still never ends in a quarrel or worse yet, a divorce, but there follows at the very least a summing-up by all the involved parties: we agree to disagree. The fugue is above all an abstract form of music, but in addition, everyone is free to draw insights from the music of Bach and from the composers he inspired.
Item number ZEF9666
Barcode 8717774570609
Release date 10/4/2019
Category Classical Music
Number of units 0
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Bach - Mendelssohn - Shostakovich: 3X6 Preludes and Fugues, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Mompou: Chamber Music
The Seasons
Mompou: Música callada, Vols. 1-4
Schubert: Muziek voor piano
Mozart: Piano Works ZEF9608 9/1/2006 $9.99
Douwe Eisenga: Piano Concerto, String Quartet "Rose Road", City Lines & Dickens! ZEF9606 6/1/2006 $14.99
Alle Registers Open ZEF9605 6/1/2003 $14.99
Senhora del Mundo: Early Music from Spain, Portugal & the New World ZEF9604 12/1/2000 $18.99
Haydn: Piano Sonatas ZEF9603 11/1/2000 $9.99
Schubert: Piano Works ZEF9602 4/1/1998 $9.99

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items