Bach: Orchestral Suites

Buy + Add To Wish List + $26.99 ($29.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Despite the development in the philology, this 1961 Karl Richter interpretation of Bach remains a classic among classics. During his first year in Munich, Karl Richter became conductor of the 'Heinrich-Schütz-Kreis', which had been founded at the end of World War II, and renamed it Münchener Bach-Chor (Munich Bach Choir) in 1954. Together with his newly established Bach Orchestra, Richter and the ensemble gave numerous concerts in Munich and performed regularly at the Bach-Tage Ansbach (Bach Days) until 1964. Within a short time, Karl Richter successfully used 'his' choir to make Bavaria a second home for the Leipzig musical tradition. According to the encyclopedia 'Music in Geschichte und Gegenwart' (Music in the Past and Present), Protestant church music is indebted to the organist of St. Mark's Karl Richter for his 'exemplary work with Bach's music', which has been an important part of the musical life in Munich - 'apart from the church as well'. This was a clear reference to the Munich Bach Choir's achievements on the occasion of the 1959 Protestant Church Convention in Munich. Although Richter’s ensembles built a reputation for performing the works of numerous composers, no composer was so frequently performed by Richter as JS Bach.
Item number WS121.375
Barcode 8051773573750
Release date 4/5/2019
Category Orchestral
Number of units 2
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Bach: Orchestral Suites, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$44.99 ($49.99)
Conductors Profiles: Réne Leibowitz
$26.99 ($29.99)
Beethoven & Gluck: Orchestral Works
$26.99 ($29.99)
Dvorák: The Great Symphonies
$26.99 ($29.99)
Mahler: Symphony No. 1 - Elgar: Enigma Variations - Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier Suite (1953-1959)
Beethoven, Mendelssohn & Grieg: Incidental Music WS121.122 5/1/2011 $26.99 ($29.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Tchaikovsky: The Great Symphonies WS121.119 4/1/2011 $26.99 ($29.99)
Erich Leinsdorf Conducts Wagner, Strauss & Rimsky-Korsakov WS121.116 3/1/2011 $26.99 ($29.99)
Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 11 - Khachaturian: Symphony No. 2, "The Bell" WS121.114 2/1/2011 $26.99 ($29.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Prokofiev, Mussorgsky & Respighi: Orchestral Works WS121.111 1/1/2011 $26.99 ($29.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Tchaikovsky, Rimsky-Korsakov, Respighi, Stravinsky, Mussorgsky & Prokofiev: Orchestral Works WS121.104 11/1/2010 $26.99 ($29.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items