Bechara El-Khoury: Orages (Live)

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Bechara El-Khoury’s work often refers to his native Lebanon, and Orages (Storms) takes us back to youthful memories of nature’s chaotic moods, from flashes of lightning via sinister darkness to surreal and luminous calm. Espaces-Fragmentations reflects on time and ‘a strange journey into night,’ while Poeme nocturne marks the life of renowned French flautist Jean-Pierre Rampal. The lyrical post-Romantic style of Le Chant d’amour at times evokes the spirit of Richard Strauss. Bechara El-Khoury was born in Beirut in 1957 and started his musical studies in Lebanon, moving in 1979 to Paris to study with Pierre-Petit, then Director of the Ecole Normale de Musique. The televised gala concert of his works on December 9, 1983 at the Theatre des Champs-Elysees in Paris with the Orchestre Colonne conducted by Pierre Dervaux, to mark the centenary of the Lebanese-American philosopher and poet Khalil Gibran, proved ground-breaking in El-Khoury’s career. In 1987 he took French nationality. His works have been played by leading orchestras, including the London Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre National de France, the Orchestre de Paris, the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, the Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra, the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, the NDR SinfonieorchesterHamburg, the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, the European Chamber Orchestra, the Basler Kammerorchester and the Halle Orchestra, among others, with conductors including Pierre Dervaux, Daniel Harding, Martyn Brabbins, Kurt Masur, Jean-Claude Casadesus, Daniele Gatti, Paavo Jarvi and Jiri Belohlavek.
Item number 8573617
Barcode 747313361779
Release date 6/9/2017
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Various Artists
Various Artists
Disc: 1
Orages (Storms), Op. 9300:14:00
1 Orages, Op. 93 (Live) 00:14:00 Orchestre de Paris Järvi, Paavo
Poème symphonique No. 6, Op. 87, "Espaces-Fragment00:10:08
2 Symphonic Poem No. 6, Op. 87 "Espaces-fragmentatio 00:10:08 Orchestre National de France Gatti, Daniele
Poème nocturne, Op. 8000:18:34
3 Poème nocturne, Op. 80: Lento con meditazione (Liv 00:09:54 Orchestre de Paris Jensen, Eivind Gullberg Prats, Vicens
4 Poème nocturne, Op. 80: Cadence orchestrale. Dramm 00:03:09 Orchestre de Paris Jensen, Eivind Gullberg Prats, Vicens
5 Poème nocturne, Op. 80: Misterioso (Live) 00:05:31 Orchestre de Paris Jensen, Eivind Gullberg Prats, Vicens
Le Chant d'amour, Op. 44, "Poème lyrique"00:09:25
6 Le chant d'amour, Op. 44 (Live) 00:09:25 Coleman, David Orchestre Colonne Douguet, Ariane
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Bechara El-Khoury: Orages (Live), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Voices of Earth and Air
$21.59 ($23.99)
$8.99 ($9.99)
Classical Moments, Vol. 1: Classical Music to Wake Up To
$8.99 ($9.99)
CLASSICAL MOMENTS 4: Classical Music for the Home
Andante: Romantic Music for Cello and Orchestra 8555764 2/1/2002 $8.99 ($9.99)
Elgar: Cello Concerto - Introduction and Allegro - Serenade for Strings 8554409 4/1/1999 $8.99 ($9.99)
BIZET: The Best of Bizet 8551191 7/30/1996 $10.79 ($11.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
TCHAIKOVSKY: Fantasias after Shakespeare 8553017 6/28/1994 $8.99 ($9.99)
BRAHMS: The Best of Brahms 8551109 4/2/1993 $11.69 ($12.99)
101 GREAT ORCHESTRAL CLASSICS, Vol. 1 8551141 10/28/1991 $11.69 ($12.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items