Big Grenadilla/Mumbai

Buy + Add To Wish List + $15.29 ($16.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
“[Ziporyn’s] whole career has been about making us see and hear that music is one world.” – The Boston Globe Following the critically acclaimed Frog’s Eye (CA21040, 2006) Big Grenadilla/Mumbai marks the second Cantaloupe Music collaboration between composer/clarinetist Evan Ziporyn and Gil Rose’s Boston Modern Orchestra Project (BMOP). It is also the second time that Evan has teamed up with world-renowned tabla player Sandeep Das — a member of the Silk Road Ensemble — thus forging together a non-western master musician with a premiere western orchestra. Commissioned and premiered by the American Composers Orchestra in 2006, Big Grenadilla features Evan Ziporyn on bass clarinet and is named for the wood from which clarinets are made and the “big” orchestra, magnifying and framing. Wanting to highlight and amplify what he likes to do best on his instrument, Evan calls the piece “an attempt at ancestor worship, on two levels: the instrument dreams of its living, rooted reality, with the orchestra playing the role of its environs.” Mumbai is a memorial to and meditation on the terrorist bombings in that city in 2008. Mumbai was commissioned by the Boston Modern Orchestra Project and premiered alongside with Grammy nominated soloist Sandeep Das on May 27, 2011.
Item number CA21081
Barcode 713746308124
Release date 4/24/2012
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Orchestra Boston Modern Orchestra Project
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Big Grenadilla/Mumbai, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$31.49 ($34.99)
John Luther Adams: The Become Trilogy
$17.99 ($19.99)
John Luther Adams: Become Desert
$13.49 ($14.99)
Ann Millikan: Millikan Symphony
$15.29 ($16.99)
Michael Gordon: Dystopia (Live)
Become Ocean CA21101 9/30/2014 $17.99 ($19.99)
Adams: Inuksuit CA21096 10/29/2013 $17.99 ($19.99)
Cruel Sister CA21069 3/29/2011 $15.29 ($16.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Cherubini, L.: Chant Sur La Mort De Joseph Haydn / Symphony 175 1/27/2009 $10.79 ($11.99)
Orchestral Music - Gossec, F.-J. / Vanhal, J.B. / Mahaut, A. / Kraus, J.M. (Classical Symphonies) 174 1/27/2009 $10.79 ($11.99)
Heinichen, J.D. / Graupner, C. / Fasch, J.F. / Graun, J.G.: Overtures 173 1/27/2009 $10.79 ($11.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items