Brahms: Sonatas Op. 78 & 12 arranged for cello

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Cellists are fortunate indeed to have their two Brahms sonatas, both masterpieces in their genre. So one can, and certainly will, ask why we need or indeed dare to ‘borrow’ the G major violin sonata and the two clarinet sonatas and thereby make our two into five. Questions that arise: Are we just attempting to reproduce the original work with the necessary pitch and register changes? Can this be an opportunity to give another significance, even a second parallel existence, to a beloved work of art? The answer to the first question must be ‘no’, because such a treatment would simply be arrogant and pointless. To the second, I hope, listeners can agree that the two clarinet sonatas and the G major violin sonata lose nothing in these ‘translations’ and even gain a great deal of new and perhaps unexpected depth and character.
Item number NI5974
Barcode 0710357597428
Release date 2/7/2020
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Wallfisch, Raphael
York, John
Disc: 1
Clarinet Sonata in E-Flat Major, Op. 120, No. 2 (a00:25:00
1 I. Allegro amabile 00:08:42 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
2 II. Allegro appassionato 00:04:58 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
3 III. Andante con moto - Allegro 00:07:26 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Major, Op. 78 (arr. for c00:28:00
4 I. Vivace ma non troppo 00:11:00 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
5 II. Adagio 00:08:05 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
6 III. Allegro molto moderato 00:09:17 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
Clarinet Sonata in F Minor, Op. 120, No. 1 (arr. f00:20:00
7 I. Allegro appassionato 00:08:02 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
8 II. Andante un poco adagio 00:05:21 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
9 III. Allegretto grazioso 00:04:19 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
10 IV. Vivace 00:05:27 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Brahms: Sonatas Op. 78 & 12 arranged for cello, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Martinu: 3 Cello Sonatas & 7 Arabesques
$17.09 ($18.99)
Brahms: Cello Sonatas
$17.09 ($18.99)
Bloch: Music for Cello & Piano
$17.09 ($18.99)
Schumann: Works for Cello and Piano
Ravel & Fauré: Trios - Debussy: Sonatas NI5905 6/1/2013 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Liszt, Dohnányi & Kodály: Music for cello & piano NI5901-2 3/1/2013 $26.99 ($29.99)
Delius & Grieg: The complete works for cello & piano NI5884 9/1/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Mendelssohn: Piano Trios, Opp. 49 & 56 - Schumann: Five Canons, Op. 56 NI5875 1/1/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Chopin, Laks & Szymanowski: Cello Sonatas NI5862 5/1/2010 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Cello Recital: Wallfisch, Raphael - ZEMLINSKY, A. von / GOLDMARK, K. NI5806 1/1/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items