Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, WAB 109

Buy + Add To Wish List + $8.09 ($8.99) - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Anton Bruckner’s Ninth Symphony sums up the composer's legacy in all its purity. Ferdinand Leitner conducts this towering masterpiece in its original form, free from speculative edits to the unfinished fourth movement. The noted German conductor, Ferdinand Leitner, studied at the Music School in his home city under Fritz Schreker and Julius Prüwer from 1926 to 1931, as well as receiving instruction from Artur Schnabel and Karl Muck. Leitner became known mainly as an opera conductor. He promoted 20th-century German opera, especially the works of Carl Orff and Karl-Amadeus Hartmann. He also promoted the works of Ferruccio Busoni. His premieres include the operas Oedipus the King by Carl Orff (1959), Don Juan und Faust (1950) as well as Hamlet (1980), both by Hermannn Reutter. He succeeded Erich Kleiber as conductor of the German operas at the Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires in 1956. From 1969 to 1984, he was senior musical director of the Zürich Opera and from 1976 to 1980 principal conductor of the Residence Orchestra in The Hague at the same time. From 1988, he was principal guest conductor of the RAI Symphony Orchestra in Turin.
Item number SWR19512CD
Barcode 747313951284
Release date 8/10/2018
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Leitner, Ferdinand
Orchestra Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR
Disc: 1
Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, WAB 109 (Original 1894 00:59:56
1 Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, WAB 109: I. Feierlich. 00:24:59 Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR Leitner, Ferdinand
2 Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, WAB 109: II. Scherzo. B 00:11:07 Leitner, Ferdinand Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR
3 Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, WAB 109: III. Adagio. L 00:25:10 Leitner, Ferdinand Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, WAB 109, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
Bruckner: Symphony No. 7 in E Major, WAB 107
$17.09 ($18.99)
Ravel: Orchestral Works, Vol. 2
$17.09 ($18.99)
Debussy: Orchestral Works
$17.09 ($18.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5, Op. 47
Ravel: Orchestral Works Vol. 1 93305 10/29/2013 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Schubert: Symphonies Nos. 6 & 8 93298 3/26/2013 $17.09 ($18.99)
Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 9 and 15 93284 4/24/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Bruckner: Symphonies Nos. 7 & 9 94604 11/15/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 4 - Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk Suite 93193 2/15/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
Elgar: Symphony No. 1 in A-Flat Major, Op. 55 93000 5/19/2000 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items