Cage: Chess Pieces - 4 Dances - Johnson: Rational Melodies (excerpts)

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Trio Omphalos has been performing original and exciting programs with new music since it was founded in 2006 – with the rare lineup of clarinet, drums and piano. The trio discovered John Cage’s “Chess Pieces” in 2012, a graphic image composition by Cage that the pianist Margret Lang Tan translated into a piano version. Trio Omphalos has created an expressive and colourful trio version out of this transcription. Tom Johnson’s graceful and wonderful Rational Melodies build the bridge between compositions of John Cage. The lucid, joyous questioning of music is at the core of Tom Johnson’s own composition as well. As with "Rational Melodies“, "Chess Pieces“ lends itself to being divided among different instruments, and one can hear in both recordings how creative Trio Omphalos has been in their arrangements. In each ‘rational melody’ Johnson applies a single process to a simple, formal musical idea - adding notes, subtracting notes, counting notes, expanding phrases, contracting phrases, adding rhythmic complexity – and then stands back from the process, as it fills out the melody over time.
Item number WER73702
Barcode 4010228737028
Release date 10/13/2017
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Cage: Chess Pieces - 4 Dances - Johnson: Rational Melodies (excerpts), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Vasks: String Quartets Nos. 2 and 5
$17.09 ($18.99)
Theodorakis: East of the Aegean
$17.09 ($18.99)
HINDEMITH: Works for Cello and Piano, Vol. 2 - Cello Sonata / 3 Leichte Stucke / Kleine Sonata / A frog he went a-courting
$17.09 ($18.99)
Hindemith: Works for Cello and Piano, Vol. 1 - Cello Sonata / 3 Stucke
LINDE, H.: Music for Two / STOCKHAUSEN: 12 Melodien der Sternzeichen (excerpts) / ZEHM: Serenade / BRINDLE: Hathor at Philae WER60142-50 10/1/1988 $14.39 ($15.99)
PANNKE: Music for Unborn Children SM1074-50 6/1/1988 $14.39 ($15.99)
LIGETI: String Quartets Nos. 1, 2 (Arditti Quartet) WER60079-50 5/1/1988 $17.09 ($18.99)
JULLICH, M.: Four Directions (The) SM1070-50 12/1/1987 $14.39 ($15.99)
Passages SM1065-50 5/1/1987 $14.39 ($15.99)
BROUWER, L.: Variantes / HENZE, H.: 5 Scenes from the Snow Country / HILLER, W.: Katalog IV (Percussion Today) WER60123-50 8/1/1986 $14.39 ($15.99)

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Amiable Conversation
Buy + $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items