Calin Huma: Symphony-Concerto / Symphony No. 1, "Carpatica"

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Calin Huma was born in 1965 in Iasi, in the northeastern region of Romania known as Moldavia. Following high school and after completing his compulsory military service, Huma was able to follow a commercial career alongside his musical studies before being appointed Romanian Honorary Consul to the United Kingdom. He has lived and worked in Britain for over twenty years, his diplomatic duties running alongside his development as a composer. Huma is not a prolific composer. He has been a slow developer in arriving at his mature work, which has been mostly concerned in recent years with larger symphonic forms, at the head of which stand the two symphonies (2015 and 2019) and Symphony-Concerto for piano and orchestra (2018). The language of Huma's music may be described as being, at heart, romantic, rooted in the folk-music of his native Moldavia yet is effectively a synthesis of genuine organic writing and an individual approach to what one might term non-narrative tone-poem music - by its combination of such abstractions, as a refreshing revivification of symphonic composition in a manner that is profoundly rooted in tonality. Huma's view of tonality is that which, by its nature, abjures 'traditional' key relationships exhibiting a strongly individual compositional manner which nonetheless demonstrates the eternal truths of classical symphonic writing.
Item number GMCD7824
Barcode 5065002170248
Release date 3/20/2020
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Tuhutiu, Sergiu
Classical Composer Petrie, Chris
Orchestra BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Disc: 1
1 I. — 00:13:22 BBC National Orchestra of Wales Petrie, Chris Tuhutiu, Sergiu
2 II. — 00:10:43 BBC National Orchestra of Wales Petrie, Chris Tuhutiu, Sergiu
3 III. — 00:07:28 BBC National Orchestra of Wales Petrie, Chris Tuhutiu, Sergiu
Symphony No. 1, "Carpatica"00:37:00
4 I. Largo 00:15:16 BBC National Orchestra of Wales Petrie, Chris
5 II. Largo 00:10:11 BBC National Orchestra of Wales Petrie, Chris
6 III. Allegro 00:09:00 BBC National Orchestra of Wales Petrie, Chris
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Calin Huma: Symphony-Concerto / Symphony No. 1, "Carpatica", please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.99 ($19.99)
Pickard: Sixteen Sunrises, Symphony No. 5 & Concertante Variations
$17.09 ($18.99)
British Tone Poems, Vol. 1
$17.09 ($18.99)
Overtures from the British Isles, Vol. 2
$19.79 ($21.99)
Sibelius: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 7
Puw: Reservoirs SIGCD378 5/27/2014 $16.19 ($17.99)
Bloch: Schelomo - Voice in the Wilderness - Caplet: Epiphanie - Ravel: Kaddisch NI5913 1/1/2014 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Stravinsky, Martin & Honegger: Violin Concertos & Orchestral Works ORF-C849121 10/30/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Symphony No. 9 & Aus dem Buch Hiob by Fritz Brun GMCD7306 6/1/2006 $11.99
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra - Don Quixote GMCD7204 9/15/2000 $11.99
Out of stock
Strauss, R.: Don Juan / Tod Und Verklärung / Till Eulenspiegels Lustige Streiche / Der Rosenkavalier (Orchestral Favourites, Vol. 8) NI7090 10/1/1996 $13.49 ($14.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items