Cattaneo: Violin Concertos (Dresden, 1730/40)

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The content of “Schranck No: II” represents the rich Dresden instrumental repertoire from the first two thirds of the 18th century with a volume of about 1,750 pieces of music. After the end of the Seven Years’ War, these musical pieces were sorted, inserted into envelopes with their characteristic detailed title labels and deposited in an archive cabinet, the aforementioned “Schranck No: II”, in the court church. Like a time capsule, this treasure was rediscovered only after the middle of the 19th century by the court kapellmeister Julius Rietz. Today, this unique collection belongs to the collection of the Saxon State Library – Dresden State and University Library. The sources of the violin concertos by Francesco Maria Cattaneo have been handed down exclusively in Dresden and all originate from the almost legendary “Schranck No: II”. Stylistically, Cattaneo drew from the musical language of his environment, whereby echoes of Vivaldi can be discerned, as well as of Hasse, who set the tone in Dresden. The three anonymous orchestral pieces for strings also originate from the “Schranck No: II”. With the combination of Italian sinfonia and French overture suite, they are exemplary of the typical reception of the so-called mixed taste of Dresden.
Item number ACC 24364
Barcode 4015023243644
Release date 2/7/2020
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Cattaneo: Violin Concertos (Dresden, 1730/40), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Abel: The Drexel Manuscript
$8.09 ($8.99)
Lute Music of the 18th Century
$8.09 ($8.99)
Beethoven: Pathétique
$8.09 ($8.99)
The Art of the Ricercar in 16th Century Italy
Clementi: Sonatas for the Pianoforte ACT10011 2/1/2008 $8.09 ($8.99)
Choral Music (15Th Century) - Isaac, H. / Obrecht, J. / Busnoys, A. / Tinctoris, J. / Hayne Van Ghizeghem / Urrede, J. ACT10076 1/1/2007 $8.09 ($8.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Organ Recital: Tamminga, Liuwe - CAVAZZONI, M.A. / FOGLIANO, J. / SEGNI, G. / VEGGIO, C. ACT23148 1/1/2004 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Guitar Recital: Smits, Raphaella - MERTZ, J.K. / GIULIANI, M. ACT23158 1/1/2004 $17.09 ($18.99)
Chamber Music (17Th Century Spain) - Marin, J. / Ruiz De Ribayaz / Guerau, F. / Hidalgo, J. / Sanz, G. ACT24160 1/1/2004 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Organ Recital: Tamminga, Liuwe - LEO, L. / STORACE, B. / GRECO, G. / FRESCOBALDI, G.A. / VECCHIOTTI, L. / LAMBARDI, F. / MACQUE, G. ACT21147 1/1/2003 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Animam gementem cano
Buy + $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items