Chopin: Fantasy in F minor - Ballade No. 3 - Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Nos. 23 & 32

Buy + Add To Wish List + $22.49 ($24.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
As winner of the inaugural Tchaikovsky Competition in 1958, Van Cliburn was lauded by the greats, including Shostakovich, Gilels and Sviatoslav Richter, who is said to have proclaimed ‘he is a pianist, the others are not’. The three Chopin performances on this DVD were filmed by the BBC just one year later, when Cliburn was still very much in his prime. His performances of these three popular Chopin works exude controlled brilliance – grandeur and virtuosity without ostentation. Claudio Arrau, recognizable for his rich, sonorous tone and often described as ‘Prince’, ‘Emperor’, and ‘King’ of the keyboard, is an excellent companion to Cliburn on this DVD. Widely considered one of the greatest pianists of the 20th century, he was renowned for his definitive interpretations of almost every composer he engaged with, although he remains most celebrated for his Beethoven.
Item number ICAD 5073
Barcode 5060244550735
Release date 5/29/2012
Category Classical Music
Media type DVD VIDEO
Number of units 1
Disc: 1
1 Ballade No. 3 in A-Flat Major, Op. 47 (NTSC) 00:08:07 Cliburn, Van
2 Scherzo No. 3 in C-Sharp Minor, Op. 39 (NTSC) 00:07:35 Cliburn, Van
3 Fantasie in F Minor, Op. 49 (NTSC) 00:13:55 Cliburn, Van
4 Piano Sonata No. 23 in F Minor, Op. 57, "Appassion 00:25:46 Arrau, Claudio
5 Piano Sonata No. 32 in C Minor, Op. 111 (NTSC) 00:27:52 Arrau, Claudio
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Chopin: Fantasy in F minor - Ballade No. 3 - Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Nos. 23 & 32, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$58.49 ($64.99)
Charles Munch and the Boston Symphony Orchestra
$58.49 ($64.99)
Legendary Conductors of the Boston Symphony Orchestra
$22.49 ($24.99)
Bach: Concerto for 2 Violins - Mozart: Sinfonia concertante - Brahms: Violin Concerto
$22.49 ($24.99)
Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2
Debussy: La Mer - Iberia - Ravel: Ma mere l'oye (Munch) ICAD 5014 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Wagner: Orchestra excerpts from Die Meistersinger - Franck: Symphony in D minor ICAD 5015 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Strauss: Ein Heldenleben - Dvorak: Symphony No. 9, "From the New World" ICAD 5009 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Schubert: Piano Trios Nos. 1 and 2 ICAD 5010 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Elgar: Symphony No. 2 - Enigma Variations ICAD 5011 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 4 and 5 - Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus (excerpts) ICAD 5016 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items