Confessions of Faith: Choral Concertos by Bortniansky & Schnittke

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The first release by the MDR Radio Chorus under its new director Risto Joost is not just a confession of faith, but truly a confession of sound as well: the ensemble’s second GENUIN release presents Russian sacred music. What impressive musical contrasts we hear in the remarkable acoustics of Leipzig’s Paul Gerhardt Church: distinctive contours from the too-little-known classicist Dmitry Bortniansky (1751–1825) feature alongside the monumental blocks of sound and etheric soundscapes of Alfred Schnittke’s Concerto for Choir. Both works bear witness not only to the power of faith, but also of music, interpreted by the MDR Radio Chorus with eloquence, sparkling precision, and total commitment.
Item number GEN 17450
Barcode 4260036254501
Release date 2/3/2017
Category Concertos
Number of units 1
Choir MDR Rundfunkchor
Conductor Joost, Risto
Disc: 1
Sacred Concerto No. 900:09:00
1 Sacred Concerto No. 9 00:06:07 MDR Rundfunkchor Joost, Risto
Cherubic Hymn No. 700:04:00
2 Cherubic Hymn No. 7 00:04:14 MDR Rundfunkchor Joost, Risto
Sacred Concerto No. 2400:10:00
3 Sacred Concerto No. 24 00:07:02 MDR Rundfunkchor Joost, Risto
Choir Concerto00:32:00
4 Choir Concerto: I. O Master of All Living 00:15:07 MDR Rundfunkchor Joost, Risto Sprenger, Dorothea Vilar-Juanola, Alba Hoffmann, Falk
5 Choir Concerto: II. I, an Expert in Human Passions 00:06:56 MDR Rundfunkchor Joost, Risto
6 Choir Concerto: III. God, Grant Deliverance from S 00:10:24 MDR Rundfunkchor Joost, Risto Jae-Hyong, Kim Hoffmann, Falk
7 Choir Concerto: IV. Complete This Work Which I Beg 00:05:01 MDR Rundfunkchor Joost, Risto
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Confessions of Faith: Choral Concertos by Bortniansky & Schnittke, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Vivaldi, Mozart, Jolivet & Génin: Bassoon Concertos
$17.09 ($18.99)
Vivaldi, Jacob, Françaix & C.P.E. Bach: Bassoon Concertos (Movimentos Edition)
$17.09 ($18.99)
Schumann: Cello Concerto (arrangements)
$17.09 ($18.99)
J.S. Bach, Telemann & C.P.E. Bach: Oboe Concertos (Movimentos Edition)
Brahms, J.: Piano Concerto No. 1 GEN89155 10/1/2009 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Haydn, J.: Piano Concertos GEN89145 6/30/2009 $17.09 ($18.99)
Haydn, F.J.: Cello Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 GEN89148 5/1/2009 $17.09 ($18.99)
Busoni, F.: Piano Concerto GEN88122 1/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Clarinet Recital: Benda, Francois - ROSSINI, G. / DEBUSSY, C. / BUSONI, F. / NIELSEN, C. GEN88128 1/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
BEETHOVEN, L. van: Piano Concertos Nos. 1-5 (Badura-Skoda, Vienna State Opera Orchestra, Scherchen) (1951-1958) GEN87102 1/1/1951 $31.49 ($34.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items