Crumb: Metamorphoses, Book 1 & 5 Pieces for Piano

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
This historic release couples George Crumb’s earliest work for piano, the Five Pieces for Piano (1962) with his most recent piano cycle, Metamorphoses (2017). Margaret Leng Tan has long been a champion of Crumb’s music, and he composed Metamorphoses (Book 1) for her. This recording is of the German premiere at the legendary Donaueschingen Festival in 2017. Crumb’s Metamorphoses is a natural descendent of his monumental Makrokosmos I & II piano cycle of the early 1970s. With a nod to Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition, each movement of the Metamorphoses is inspired by a famous painting. And, like the Makrokosmos, it requires the pianist to be a virtuoso not only at the keyboard but playing inside the piano and vocalizing as well. Ms. Tan is regarded at the “Diva of the Toy Piano,” and Crumb has also incorporated the toy piano and toy percussion instruments into some movements. Crumb says: “I have always been most fortunate to have had outstanding pianists who were willing to tackle the formidable technical and musical innovations in my scores. And among the very finest of these is Margaret Leng Tan for whom I wrote Metamorphoses (Book l). Margaret’s technical prowess and superb artistic sensitivity is a combination that must warm the heart of any composer!” The album also includes the early Five Pieces for Piano. All the components of Crumb’s mature compositional language are already evident: a broad palette of coloristic effects along with an extraordinarily sensitive command of nuance, his unmistakable musical gestures, an inherent sense of drama coupled with a magical suspenseful atmosphere and a battery of interior piano effects demanding that the pianist be somewhat of a harpist and percussionist as well.
Item number MOD-CD-303
Barcode 764593030324
Release date 6/15/2018
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Tan, Margaret Leng
Disc: 1
Metamorphoses, Book I00:41:49
1 Metamorphoses, Book I: No. 1, Black Prince 00:05:14 Tan, Margaret Leng
2 Metamorphoses, Book I: No. 2, The Goldfish 00:02:53 Tan, Margaret Leng
3 Metamorphoses, Book I: No. 3, Wheatfield with Crow 00:04:56 Tan, Margaret Leng
4 Metamorphoses, Book I: No. 4, The Fiddler 00:03:29 Tan, Margaret Leng
5 Metamorphoses, Book I: No. 5, Nocturne. Blue and G 00:03:46 Tan, Margaret Leng
6 Metamorphoses, Book I: No. 6, Perilous Night 00:03:21 Tan, Margaret Leng
7 Metamorphoses, Book I: No. 7, Clowns at Night 00:04:53 Tan, Margaret Leng
8 Metamorphoses, Book I: No. 8, Contes barbares 00:05:19 Tan, Margaret Leng
9 Metamorphoses, Book I: No. 9, The Persistence of M 00:04:45 Tan, Margaret Leng
10 Metamorphoses, Book I: No. 10, The Blue Rider 00:03:13 Tan, Margaret Leng
11 Applause 00:00:37 Audience
5 Pieces for Piano00:12:00
12 5 Pieces for Piano: No. 1, Quasi improvvisando 00:02:44 Tan, Margaret Leng
13 5 Pieces for Piano: No. 2, Ruvido, molto energico 00:01:21 Tan, Margaret Leng
14 5 Pieces for Piano: No. 3, Notturno. Sempre pizzic 00:02:02 Tan, Margaret Leng
15 5 Pieces for Piano: No. 4, Ruvido, molto energico 00:01:21 Tan, Margaret Leng
16 5 Pieces for Piano: No. 5, Senza misura, liberamen 00:04:36 Tan, Margaret Leng
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Crumb: Metamorphoses, Book 1 & 5 Pieces for Piano, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

She Herself Alone: The Art of the Toy Piano 2
Cage: The Works for Piano, Vol. 7
Crumb: Makrokosmos I & II
Cage: Violin Works, Vol. 5
Christian Wolff: Look She Said (Complete Works for Bass) MOD-CD-109 7/23/2002 $18.99
Cage: Edition, Vol. 25 - Piano Works, Vol. 4 MOD-CD-106 3/26/2002 $17.98
Giacinto Scelsi: Music for High Winds MOD-CD-102 2/26/2002 $18.99
Few in stock Buy +
Speach: Reflections MOD-CD-105 2/26/2002 $18.99
Cowell: Dancing With Henry MOD-CD-101 10/23/2001 $18.99
Few in stock Buy +
Sonic Encounters MOD-CD-15 5/1/1991 $17.98
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items