Cyberistan: The Electro-Acoustic Music of Ken Walicki

Buy + Add To Wish List + $13.49 ($14.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Ken Walicki is an American composer and director of the Composition Program at California State University, Fullerton. He is widely recognized and acknowledged for his dramatic and engaging music, often using innovative instrumentation. Walicki was one of the first composers to use turntables in his music. Walicki conveys the effects of globalization and increasing dependency on technology with CYBERISTAN, a Ravello Records release. Each piece contains its own environment and its own space. The natural acoustic sounds juxtaposed against man-made sounds of electronic instrumentation supports a dichotomy of two worlds vying for supremacy but inevitably merging into one homogenous identity. The compositions invoke many aspects of such a state, such as the spacious elegance of Black Water and the eponymous Cyberistan, the airy and hopeful Sabah, the verbose call and response of the bass and electronics in Light and a more primal piece, nada Brahma, commissioned and composed for the Kronos Quartet. Walicki brilliantly captures the awe of the exotic and contrasts it elegantly with the foreboding nature of modernity. In its entirety, CYBERISTAN is a snapshot of a world that is slowly succumbing to an indifferent sameness through a more connected, yet dehumanized world.
Item number RR7974
Barcode 636160196019
Release date 9/8/2017
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Classical Composer Walicki, Ken
Disc: 1
1 Light 00:10:45 Peters, Tom Walicki, Ken
Black Water00:10:00
2 Black Water 00:09:48 Walicki, Ken Figueiredo, Virginia Unal, Fureya
3 Sabah 00:13:03 Walicki, Ken Mellis, Rachel
4 Cyberistan 00:09:47 Walicki, Ken Unal, Fureya
nada Brahma00:15:00
5 Nada Brahma 00:15:19 Eclipse Quartet Walicki, Ken
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Cyberistan: The Electro-Acoustic Music of Ken Walicki, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Tracer: Recent Chamber Works
$15.29 ($16.99)
Concerti for Piano with Percussion Orchestra
$15.29 ($16.99)
Amos Elkana: Casino Umbro
$15.29 ($16.99)
From Moog to Mac
Brickman: Winter & Construction RR7823 4/24/2012 $15.29 ($16.99)
Sprezzatura RR7818 10/25/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
McDuo RR7814 7/26/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
The Music of Gui Sook Lee RR7810 1/25/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
McCormick Percussion Group: Music for Keyboard Percussions RR7804 2/23/2010 $11.69 ($12.99)
Poetzsch, S.: Light On RR7801 1/26/2010 $11.69 ($12.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items