David Maslanka: Music for Wind Ensemble

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Although the American composer David Maslanka (1943–2017) wrote in a wide range of genres, it is for his generous output of music for wind band that he is best known. Three of the works heard here are in effect symphonic poems, all three infused with that big-hearted sense of space found in the best of American music and the quiet dignity of those endless open landscapes, but also energized by a powerful sense of freewheeling drama. The fourth piece is a charming and hugely engaging presentation of the instruments of the symphonic wind ensemble, a latter-day Peter and the Wolf – likewise intended for children and similarly bubbling with good tunes. The composer himself was closely involved in the preparation for these recordings – the last major project involving his music before his death – which now stand as a testament to a man much-loved in American musical circles.
Item number TOCC0563
Barcode 5060113445636
Release date 1/1/2021
Category Wind Ensemble/Band Music
Number of units 0
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like David Maslanka: Music for Wind Ensemble, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Fischer: Complete Music for Wind Ensemble
$17.09 ($18.99)
Farkas: Music for Wind Ensemble
Strike Up the Band! (GöteborgsMusiken)
$10.79 ($11.99)
SOUSA: At the Symphony
Sousa, J.P.: Music for Wind Band, Vol. 2 8559059 10/1/2001 $11.99
Sousa: Music for Wind Band, Vol. 1 8559058 3/1/2001 $10.79 ($11.99)
GABRIELI: Music for Brass, Vol. 3 8554129 3/1/2001 $11.69 ($12.99)
GABRIELI: Music for Brass, Vol. 2 8553873 3/29/2000 $11.69 ($12.99)
Few in stock Buy +
SOUSA: On Wings of Lightning 8559029 8/1/1999 $11.99
GABRIELI: Music for Brass, Vol. 1 8553609 9/26/1997 $11.69 ($12.99)

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items