Dawn & Twilight: The First & Last Violin Sonatas of Cyril Scott

Buy + Add To Wish List + $15.29 ($16.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
By the end of his life in 1970, the British composer Cyril Scott had sunk into obscurity save for a few pieces that dangled tantalizingly on the fringes of classical repertory. The advent of the 21st century has ignited a rediscovery of this iconoclastic composer, and ‘Dawn and Twilight’ is a part of this movement premiering his first and last violin sonatas played with sensitivity and fantastic musical engagement with Andrew Kirkman on violin and Clipper Erickson on piano. Composed in 1910 and 1956 respectively, the sonatas permit a ‘bookend’ glimpse into Scott’s musical development in the context of a classical music world almost completely transformed during this period. The first composed with a predictably youthful swagger premiered to accolades by Claude Debussy and Sonata Nr. 4 composed as Scott neared his eighth decade is permeated by the contemplative and mature perspectives of a lifetime of tenaciously prolific work despite the public acclaim that eluded him.
Item number AF1504
Barcode 888295332934
Release date 11/13/2015
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Erickson, Clipper
Conductor Kirkman, Andrew
Disc: 1
Violin Sonata No. 1 in C Major, Op. 5900:28:48
1 Violin Sonata No. 1 in C Major, Op. 59: I. Allegro 00:11:52 Erickson, Clipper Kirkman, Andrew
2 Violin Sonata No. 1 in C Major, Op. 59: II. Andant 00:10:56 Erickson, Clipper Kirkman, Andrew
3 Violin Sonata No. 1 in C Major, Op. 59: III. Alleg 00:04:15 Erickson, Clipper Kirkman, Andrew
4 Violin Sonata No. 1 in C Major, Op. 59: IV. Allegr 00:12:47 Erickson, Clipper Kirkman, Andrew
Violin Sonata No. 400:15:00
5 Violin Sonata No. 4: I. Andante tranquillo 00:07:46 Erickson, Clipper Kirkman, Andrew
6 Violin Sonata No. 4: II. Allegretto moderato e ama 00:02:42 Erickson, Clipper Kirkman, Andrew
7 Violin Sonata No. 4: III. Energico 00:05:47 Kirkman, Andrew Erickson, Clipper
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Dawn & Twilight: The First & Last Violin Sonatas of Cyril Scott, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
$15.29 ($16.99)
Le cor français authentique
$15.29 ($16.99)
David Amram: So in America
$14.39 ($15.99)
Infinite Piazzolla
Phillip Ramey: Music for French Horn AF1704 6/16/2017 $15.29 ($16.99)
C. Schumann, Beethoven & Franck: Works for Violin & Piano AF1701 1/27/2017 $15.29 ($16.99)
Adiós Nonino AF1603 10/28/2016 $15.29 ($16.99)
Mendelssohn: Early Works for Piano & Strings AF1604 9/30/2016 $15.29 ($16.99)
J.S. Bach: Sonatas for Viola da gamba & Harpsichord, BWV 1027-1029 AF1503 3/25/2016 $15.29 ($16.99)
Soul Strings AF1502 9/25/2015 $14.39 ($15.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items