Dmitry Shostakovich - Doppeltes Spiel

Add To Wish List + $29.69 ($32.99) - Out of stock

For the first time, the successful series of BR-KLASSIK audio biographies is devoting itself to a 20th-century composer: Dmitri Shostakovich. His symphonies are still highlights in the concert hall, and his fate has inspired great novels. But what do we really know about his life? He liked to play his cards close to his chest – and had good reason to do so... Dmitri Shostakovich himself claimed that his life was “rather grey and colorless". In reality, it was the most exciting composer's life of the 20th century. Revolution and civil war, Stalin's murderous terror, then the Second World War, the "thaw" under Khrushchev and finally Brezhnev's brutalist socialism: the whole tragic history of the Soviet Union runs like a thread through his work. As a functionary who seemed to be loyal to the party line, he played along - but his music spoke against the regime and in favor of its victims and of the freedom of art. "This is a game that can end badly," Stalin threatened, probably in person. Shostakovich was thus obliged to fight his own fears as well. He was playing a double game - and knew it was dangerous. This audio biography draws on many sources, some of them still little-known in Germany. The result is a comprehensive, colorful and detailed picture of the composer’s life, and contains several surprises – also with regard to his private life, which should not pale behind the historical panorama. Like every great composer, Shostakovich had his crises and affairs, his great sufferings and small joys.
Item number BRK900929
Barcode 4035719009293
Release date 1/7/2022
Category Spoken Word
Number of units 4
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Dmitry Shostakovich - Doppeltes Spiel, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$29.69 ($32.99)
R. Schumann: Die Innere Stimme
$26.99 ($29.99)
Tchaikovsky: Der Wille zum Glück
$29.69 ($32.99)
Beethoven: Freiheit über alles
$17.99 ($19.99)
Bach, J.S.: St. Matthew Passion - Werkeinfuhrung
Feuerzauber Weltenbrand 900903 11/13/2015 $29.69 ($32.99)
Out of stock
Giuseppe Verdi: Das Wahre erfinden, Eine Hörbiografie von Jörg Handstein 900904 11/13/2015 $26.99 ($29.99)
Mozart: Schatten und Licht 900906 10/9/2015 $29.69 ($32.99)
Richard Strauss: "Die Zeit, die ist ein sonderbar' Ding" 900905 10/9/2015 $26.99 ($29.99)
Feuerzauber Weltenbrand BRK900903 2/26/2013 $26.99 ($29.99)
Bach, J.S.: St. Matthew Passion - Werkeinfuhrung 403571900900 9/29/2009 $17.99 ($19.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items