Douglas Anderson: Chamber Symphonies Nos. 2, 3 & 4

Buy + Add To Wish List + $13.49 ($14.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Since the robust development of the symphonic form in the 18th century, many composers, from Haydn, Beethoven, Mahler and Stravinsky, have written within the genre, creating engaging sonic worlds in and of themselves. Inspired by Arnold Schoenberg’s two chamber symphonies, American composer Douglas Anderson presents three of his chamber symphonies on his debut release on Ravello Records, which aim to envelope the listener in a varied and multifaceted musical environment all the while exploring the genre using the necessarily limited timbral and harmonic palette of a small ensemble. Each of anderson’s three-movement chamber symphonies was written for a particular ensemble, deriving pitch material from the characteristics of the instruments. Chamber Symphony No. 2 (1989) was written for Oval Window Chamber Ensemble and premiered in 1989 at Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall. Written for flute, clarinet, violin and cello, this work incorporates elements and characteristics from a variety of composers, from Mozart and Josquin Des Prez to Shostakovich. Chamber Symphony No. 3 (2001), written for and premiered by Eight Strings and a Whistle, features a short cadenza between the movements for each of the instruments – flute, viola, and cello – providing momentum leading up to an intense climax. Anderson’s Chamber Symphony No. 4 (2011) was written for the piano trio and uses two serial rows, which are made more and more complex through a series of variations. The composer magnifies the scope of the symphonic form, taking it out of its traditional context and restraining it to a smaller ensemble only to open up new realms in chamber music repertory
Item number RR7923
Barcode 636160195135
Release date 1/8/2016
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Eight Strings & a Whistle piano trio
Disc: 1
Chamber Symphony No. 200:19:00
1 Chamber Symphony No. 2: I. Introduction - Flute Ca 00:04:57 Swinchowski, Margaret
2 Chamber Symphony No. 2: II. Violin Cadenza 00:08:21 Briggs, Kurt
3 Chamber Symphony No. 2: III. Coda 00:06:54
Chamber Symphony No. 300:13:00
4 Chamber Symphony No. 3: I. Introduction - Flute Ca 00:04:30 Eight Strings & a Whistle Gilchrest, Suzanne
5 Chamber Symphony No. 3: II. Viola Cadenza 00:05:40 Eight Strings & a Whistle Litera, Ina
6 Chamber Symphony No. 3: III. Coda 00:03:17 Eight Strings & a Whistle
Chamber Symphony No. 400:21:00
7 Chamber Symphony No. 4: I. Introduction 00:04:49 piano trio
8 Chamber Symphony No. 4: II. Trio Summary & Transit 00:12:19 piano trio
9 Chamber Symphony No. 4: III. Coda 00:04:24 piano trio
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Douglas Anderson: Chamber Symphonies Nos. 2, 3 & 4, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Brickman: 96 Strings & 2 Whistles
$15.29 ($16.99)
Albert's Window
$15.29 ($16.99)
Concerti for Piano with Percussion Orchestra
$15.29 ($16.99)
From Moog to Mac
Brickman: Winter & Construction RR7823 4/24/2012 $15.29 ($16.99)
Sprezzatura RR7818 10/25/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
McDuo RR7814 7/26/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
Few in stock Buy +
The Music of Gui Sook Lee RR7810 1/25/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
Few in stock Buy +
McCormick Percussion Group: Music for Keyboard Percussions RR7804 2/23/2010 $11.69 ($12.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Poetzsch, S.: Light On RR7801 1/26/2010 $11.69 ($12.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items