Douglas Young: The Hunting of the Snark (An Agony in 8 Fits)

Buy + Add To Wish List + $13.49 ($14.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The Hunting of the Snark tells the tale of several characters who go on a sea journey, searching for a mythical creature called “The Snark,” whatever it may be, for the Snark is different things to each of the characters. The Baker’s uncle once told him, “If your Snark be a Boojum!... You will softly and suddenly vanish away, and never be met with again!” Through this journey relationships develop, tensions rise and the Baker’s worst nightmare comes true. The Hunting of the Snark shares its fictional setting with Lewis Carroll’s earlier poem “Jabberwocky” published in his children’s novel Through the Looking Glass (1871). Eight nonsense words from “Jabberwocky” appear in The Hunting of the Snark: bandersnatch, beamish, frumious, galumphing, jubjub, mimsiest, outgrabe and uffish. In a letter to the mother of his young friend Gertrude Chataway, Carroll described the domain of the Snark as “an island frequented by the Jubjub and the Bandersnatch- no doubt the very island where the Jabberwock was slain.” Douglas Young (b. 1947) won the competition scholarship to the Royal College of Music, London and the Karl Rankl Prize for orchestral composition. He has written several scores for the Royal ballet, and in the 90’s widened his scope to encompass jazz, popular dance music, film scores, and advertising jingles.
Item number CC9106
Barcode 5020926910622
Release date 8/3/2018
Category Choral
Number of units 1
Choir Leicestershire Chorale
Classical Artist Easton, Peter
Fletcher, Peter
Classical Composer Young, Douglas
Orchestra Leicestershire Schools Symphony Orchestra, members
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Douglas Young: The Hunting of the Snark (An Agony in 8 Fits), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Berlioz: La damnation de Faust - Dvorák: Te Deum (Live)
$17.09 ($18.99)
British Composers Premiere Collections, Vol. 9
$26.99 ($29.99)
Bach: St. John Passion
$26.99 ($29.99)
Bach: St. Matthew Passion
Handel: Messiah 220304 1/25/2011 $26.99 ($29.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Plagge, W.: Liknarbraut 2L009CD 3/1/2009 $17.09 ($18.99)
Pfitzner: Von Deutscher Seele 145 10/28/2008 $22.49 ($24.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Mozart, W.A.: Mass in C Minor / Requiem 116 7/29/2008 $15.29 ($16.99)
Bach: Mass in B minor (NTSC) 2054518 10/18/2005 $26.99 ($29.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Dvorák: Svatá Ludmila 112141-2 1/1/1994 $26.99 ($29.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items