Dvorák: Symphony No. 8 - Brahms: Symphony No. 1

Buy + Add To Wish List + $13.49 ($14.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
During the 50s and 60s, George Szell regularly appeared at Lucerne Festival. The concert recordings presented here—both first releases—encompass two works central in his repertoire: in 1962, the “anti-romantic and master of precision” (Harold C. Schonberg), alongside the Swiss Festival Orchestra, achieved a powerful and intensely determined interpretation of Brahms’ First Symphony, whose transparently played, chamber-like middle movements are framed by outer movements full of suspense. In the summer of 1969—one year after the violent defeat of the “Prague Spring”—Szell was reunited with the Czech Philharmonic in Lucerne. His thrillingly energetic reading of Dvorák’s Symphony No. 8 enthused the audience and critics in equal measure.
Item number AUD95625
Barcode 4022143956255
Release date 9/24/2013
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Szell, George
Disc: 1
1 I. Allegro con brio 00:10:50 Szell, George Tschechische Philharmonie
2 II. Adagio 00:10:33 Szell, George Tschechische Philharmonie
3 III. Allegretto grazioso - Molto vivace 00:06:36 Szell, George Tschechische Philharmonie
4 IV. Allegro ma non troppo 00:09:58 Szell, George Tschechische Philharmonie
5 I. Un poco sostenuto - Allegro 00:13:28 Szell, George Swiss Festival Orchestra
6 II. Andante sostenuto 00:09:07 Szell, George Swiss Festival Orchestra
7 III. Un poco allegretto e grazioso 00:04:25 Szell, George Swiss Festival Orchestra
8 IV. Adagio - Piu andante - Allegro non troppo ma c 00:16:04 Szell, George Swiss Festival Orchestra
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Dvorák: Symphony No. 8 - Brahms: Symphony No. 1, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$53.99 ($59.99)
The Berlin Recordings 1945-1957
$17.99 ($19.99)
Grieg: Complete Symphonic Works, Vol. 3
$53.99 ($59.99)
Otto Klemperer - RIAS Recordings, 1950-1958
$13.49 ($14.99)
Bruckner: Symphony No. 3
Grieg: Complete Symphonic Works, Vol. 2 AUD92579 8/30/2011 $17.99 ($19.99)
Grieg: Complete Symphonic Works, Vol. 1 AUD92651 6/28/2011 $17.99 ($19.99)
Celibidache: The Complete RIAS Recordings (Berlin, 1948-1957) AUD21406 5/31/2011 $26.99 ($29.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Hans Knappertsbusch: Complete RIAS Recordings (1950-1952) AUD21405 10/26/2010 $53.99 ($59.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Mahler: Symphony No. 1 AUD10022 5/25/2010 $6.29 ($6.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 5 SBK89844 1/29/2002 $11.98
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items