Dvorák: Symphony No. 9 - Smetana: Vltava

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Vienna 1958: Karel Ancerl wasn’t simply promoting the nation as a model citizen of Czechoslovakia; rather, wherever he was in the world, he spread his very own humanistic attitude. Yet he never forgot his Bohemian roots. He championed the unpopular oeuvre of Bohuslav Martinu in equal measure to being honored for his sublime interpretations of works by Leoš Janácek. To this day, his recordings of the music of Antonín Dvorak stand as expressive testaments in sound to a hard-won identity. At the height of his post-war European career, Ancerl liked to visit his friends at the Vienna Philharmonic; not only for 23 concert performances with them by 1970, but above all to record, with them, the epitome of musical freedom. Thus Dvorak’s Ninth, the Symphony in e, op. 95, really does sound like it comes From the New World.
Item number WS008
Barcode 4260313960088
Release date 5/12/2015
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Ancerl, Karel
Orchestra Wiener Symphoniker
Disc: 1
Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op. 95, B. 178 "From th00:29:41
1 Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op. 95, B. 178 "From th 00:09:04 Wiener Symphoniker Ancerl, Karel
2 Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op. 95, B. 178 "From th 00:09:45 Wiener Symphoniker Ancerl, Karel
3 Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op. 95, B. 178 "From th 00:07:32 Ancerl, Karel Wiener Symphoniker
4 Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op. 95, B. 178 "From th 00:11:00 Ancerl, Karel Wiener Symphoniker
My Homeland, JB 1:11200:27:14
5 Má vlast, JB 1:112: No. 2, Vltava 00:11:40 Ancerl, Karel Wiener Symphoniker
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Dvorák: Symphony No. 9 - Smetana: Vltava, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 7 (Live)
$17.09 ($18.99)
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 5
$17.09 ($18.99)
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 3
$17.09 ($18.99)
Frühling in Wien (Live)
Schubert: Symphonies Nos. 7 & 8 WS009 10/9/2015 $17.09 ($18.99)
Johann Strauss WS005 7/8/2014 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Bruckner: Symphony No. 2 WS004 5/27/2014 $17.09 ($18.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Mahler: Symphony No. 6 WS003 2/26/2013 $26.99 ($29.99)
Brahms: Symphony No. 1 WS002 11/13/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Mahler: Symphony No. 1 WS 001 10/30/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items