Edition Staatskapelle Dresden, Vol. 43: Karl Böhm

Buy + Add To Wish List + $20.69 ($22.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The focus of this impressive release is not only the stunning performance by the Staatskapelle Dresden, but the audiophile-quality sound engineering: “Real live recording – without a safety net, so to speak, without sound engineers in dark horn-rimmed glasses and white coats – belongs to the days of direct cutting to cylinder in the early days of sound recording up to the introduction of magnetic tape after World War II. From that moment on, editing and manipulation became the order of the day – indeed, it is clearly audible on many LPs and may often cause some amusement ... In the short period during which the Direct-to-Disc process was in use, in the 1970s, the aim was to transfer purist recordings to LP without tape noise – mainly in the area of jazz – and this produced some recordings that are hailed even today as ground-breaking and legendary. Made using just one single microphone, these Electrola shellac recordings remain, after a process of careful and time-consuming restoration, a benchmark to this day when it comes to motivation, joy of musicmaking and a determination to give the best performance possible on the part of the musicians, the orchestra, the conductor and the sound engineers. This is perceptible on nearly all the tracks on this album. And the conductor Karl Böhm was surely seldom in such good spirits, so carefree – brisk in his tempi – and yet simultaneously so sensitive in imparting subtle messages. All in the hope that the crackling needle will leave some of the sound for the restoration process ...“ (Sound engineer Holger Siedler)
Item number PH18035
Barcode 881488180350
Release date 8/17/2018
Category Orchestral
Number of units 2
Conductor Böhm, Karl
Orchestra Staatskapelle Dresden
Disc: 1
Die Fledermaus00:08:00
1 Die Fledermaus: Overture 00:07:50 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Indigo und die vierzig Rauber, "Tausend und eine N00:04:43
2 Indigo und die vierzig Räuber: Interlude 00:04:44 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Die Entführung aus dem Serail (Abduction from the 00:05:00
3 Die Entführung aus dem Serail, K. 384: Overture 00:04:24 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Le nozze di Figaro, K. 49200:03:46
4 Le nozze di Figaro, K. 492: Overture 00:04:05 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Leonore Overture No. 3, Op. 72b00:14:00
5 Leonore Overture No. 3, Op. 72b 00:13:46 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Egmont, Op. 8400:09:00
6 Egmont, Op. 84: Overture 00:08:07 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Der Freischütz, Op. 77, J. 27700:10:00
7 Der Freischütz, Op. 77, J. 277: Overture 00:09:13 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Oberon, J. 306: Overture00:09:00
8 Oberon, J. 306: Overture 00:08:41 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
9 Undine: Ballet Music 00:04:15 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Zar und Zimmermann00:06:23
10 Zar und Zimmermann, LoWV 38: Holzschuhtanz 00:04:02 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
The Bartered Bride, JB 1:10000:08:18
11 The Bartered Bride, JB 1:100, T. 93: Overture 00:06:57 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Disc: 2
Hänsel und Gretel00:07:32
1 Hänsel und Gretel: Overture 00:07:44 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
2 Pagliacci: Intermezzo 00:03:28 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Cavalleria Rusticana: Intermezzo00:04:00
3 Cavalleria rusticana: Intermezzo 00:03:24 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Cavalleria rusticana00:00:00
4 Cavalleria rusticana: Laßt uns preisen den Herrn ( 00:04:10 Goltz, Christel Chor der Staatsoperette Dresden Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
5 Aïda: Prelude 00:04:01 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Donna Diana00:06:00
6 Donna Diana: Overture 00:04:07 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
La damnation de Faust, Op. 24, H. 11100:04:22
7 La damnation de Faust, Op. 24, H. 111: No. 3, Marc 00:04:12 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Serenade No. 13 in G Major, K. 525 "Eine kleine Na00:15:03
8 Serenade No. 13 in G Major, K. 525 "Eine kleine Na 00:14:10 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
3 Marche militaires, Op. 51, D. 73300:04:00
9 3 Marches militaires, Op. 51, D. 733: No. 1 in D M 00:04:18 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Italian Capriccio, Op. 45, TH 4700:16:00
10 Capriccio italien, Op. 45, TH 47 (Excerpt) 00:08:04 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Kaiser-Walzer, Op. 43700:10:48
11 Kaiser-Walzer, Op. 437 00:08:50 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Rondino Giocoso, Op. 400:06:00
12 Rondino giocoso, Op. 4 00:03:54 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
21 Hungarian Dances, WoO 100:13:04
13 21 Hungarian Dances, WoO 1 (Version for Orchestra) 00:02:20 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
14 21 Hungarian Dances, WoO 1 (Version for Orchestra) 00:03:13 Böhm, Karl Staatskapelle Dresden
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Edition Staatskapelle Dresden, Vol. 43: Karl Böhm, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Bruckner: Symphony No. 3 in D Minor, WAB 103 "Wagner Symphony" (Live)
$20.69 ($22.99)
Edition Staatskapelle Dresden, Vol. 35: Giuseppe Sinopoli (Live)
$20.69 ($22.99)
Strauss: Orchestersuite, Op. 60, "Der Bürger als Edelmann"
$31.49 ($34.99)
Sir Colin Davis – Staatskapelle Dresden
Staatskapelle Dresden Edition, Vol. 34 PH12016 4/30/2013 $20.69 ($22.99)
Mahler: Symphonie Nr. 2 PH07040 4/24/2012 $20.69 ($22.99)
Bruckner: Symphonies Nos 4 & 5 PH09025 2/28/2012 $20.69 ($22.99)
Bruckner, A.: Symphony No. 8 / Mozart, W.A.: Symphony No. 38, "Prague" (Staatskapelle Dresden Edition, Vol. 24) PH07057 1/27/2009 $20.69 ($22.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Pfitzner, H.: Symphony in C Major / Strauss, R.: Don Juan / Till Eulenspiegels Lustige Streiche (Staatskapelle Dresden Edition, Vol. 13) PH07010 2/27/2007 $11.69 ($12.99)
BEETHOVEN, L. van: Symphony No. 9, "Choral" (Bohm) (1941) (Staatskapelle Dresden Edition, Vol. 9) PH06035 8/29/2006 $15.29 ($16.99)
Out of stock
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items