Elgar: The Wand of Youth Suites - Salut d'amour - Nursery Suite - Chanson de nuit

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The latest release in Halle’s award winning Elgar Edition features works which reveal aspects of Elgar as both man and composer, reflecting his nostalgic strain and his gift for memorable, melodic invention. The Want of Youth Suites are based on the incidental music to a play written by the teenage Elgar and his siblings. They are delightful orchestral pieces, displaying the composer’s mastery for scoring and for musical lines which are fully evocative of the titles of the movements. Salut d’Amour is a charming piece of Victorian salon music. Written as a musical love letter to his once student Caroline Alice Roberts on the eve of their engagement, the piece is graced by Elgar’s melodic flair. The Nursery Suite was based on a number of early compositions which Elgar, by then Master of the King’s Musick, had rediscovered in 1930 not long after the birth of the Duke and Duchess of York’s second daughter, Princess Margaret Rose. Dedicated to the royal family the work’s eight movements feature expert embellishments of childhood material, skillful melodic writing and characterful use of solo instruments, evoking feelings of nostalgia with a real charm.
Item number HLL7548
Barcode 5065001341557
Release date 11/2/2018
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Elgar: The Wand of Youth Suites - Salut d'amour - Nursery Suite - Chanson de nuit, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Mahler: Symphony No. 9
$17.09 ($18.99)
Elgar, E.: Symphony No. 1 / In the South Overture, "Alassio" / In Moonlight
$17.09 ($18.99)
Elgar, E.: Variations On an Original Theme, "Enigma" / Serenade, Op. 20 / Cockaigne, "In London Town"
$17.09 ($18.99)
Nielsen, C.: Symphony No. 5 / Flute Concerto / Entrance March From Aladdin
Butterworth, G.: Brigg Fair / A Shropshire Lad / 2 English Idylls / The Banks of Green Willow CDHLL7503 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Shostakovich, D.: Symphonies Nos. 1 and 6 CDHLL7506 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Elgar, E.: Introduction and Allegro / Symphony No. 2 CDHLL7507 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Elgar, E.: Froissart Overture / Dream Children / The Music Makers CDHLL7509 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS, R.: Wasps (The) (Elder) CDHLD7510 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Out of stock
Shostakovich, D.: Symphonies Nos. 5 and 10 CDHLD7511 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items