Feigin: Piano Works

Buy + Add To Wish List + $13.49 ($14.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
This latest record from Navona Records is a treasure trove of piano music by the late composer and pianist Sarah Feigin. Led by Carmela O’Flaherty, the composer’s daughter, the project consists nearly entirely of previously unperformed and unrecorded works for piano. Pianist Benjamin Goodman masterfully interprets her vibrant, virtuosic music. Feigin’s music is full of formidable technical challenges for the pianist, most readily apparent in her breathless and frenetic Toccata, based on a folk theme from her native Latvia. Her interest in folk elements is inseparable from her concern with human suffering. Her Sonata is the best example of this. It contains some of her most visceral and emotional writing, building to the third movement, titled The Last Way. This movement was dedicated to the victims of Ukraine’s Babi Yar concentration camp, and draws from Joseph Kuzkovsky’s painting depicting the carnage, “Led to the Slaughter – Babi Yar.” Goodman writes: “For the pianist, it is such an exciting and emotionally challenging experience to play such music – it demands every ounce of concentration and energy in order to play these sections successfully.” It is Feigin’s humanitarian approach to these topics that make the music resonate with the listener. Her lighter pieces are also a treat. This record broadens Feigin’s legacy to include her passionate and profound piano music.
Item number NV6147
Barcode 896931004473
Release date 3/9/2018
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Goodman, Benjamin
Disc: 1
2 Pieces00:04:00
1 2 Pieces: No. 1, Prelude 00:02:07 Goodman, Benjamin
2 2 Pieces: No. 2, Storm 00:01:37 Goodman, Benjamin
3 Toccata 00:06:05 Goodman, Benjamin
4 Scenes00:07:00
4 4 Scenes: No. 1, Legend 00:02:52 Goodman, Benjamin
5 4 Scenes: No. 2, Joke 00:00:52 Goodman, Benjamin
6 4 Scenes: No. 3, Memories 00:01:25 Goodman, Benjamin
7 4 Scenes: No. 4, Perpetuum mobile 00:02:19 Goodman, Benjamin
Piano Variations00:12:00
8 Piano Variations: Theme 00:00:49 Goodman, Benjamin
9 Piano Variations: Var. 1 00:00:49 Goodman, Benjamin
10 Piano Variations: Var. 2 00:00:44 Goodman, Benjamin
11 Piano Variations: Var. 3 00:01:19 Goodman, Benjamin
12 Piano Variations: Var. 4 00:01:14 Goodman, Benjamin
13 Piano Variations: Var. 5 00:00:38 Goodman, Benjamin
14 Piano Variations: Var. 6 00:00:49 Goodman, Benjamin
15 Piano Variations: Var. 7 00:01:57 Goodman, Benjamin
16 Piano Variations: Var. 8 00:01:13 Goodman, Benjamin
17 Piano Variations: Var. 9 00:00:57 Goodman, Benjamin
18 Piano Variations: Finale 00:01:09 Goodman, Benjamin
Piano Sonata00:18:00
19 Piano Sonata: I. — 00:04:14 Goodman, Benjamin
20 Piano Sonata: II. — 00:02:34 Goodman, Benjamin
21 Piano Sonata: III. — 00:06:01 Goodman, Benjamin
22 Piano Sonata: IV. — 00:05:08 Goodman, Benjamin
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Feigin: Piano Works, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Hans Bakker: The Unnamed Source
$15.29 ($16.99)
Petty, Homans & Stewart: Tendrils
$15.29 ($16.99)
Curt Cacioppo: Italia
$15.29 ($16.99)
Carollo: Transcendence in the Age of War, Saggese Guitar Suite, String Quintet No. 1, Fear of Angst & Desiderio
Sandred, O.: Cracks and Corrosion Nos. 1 and 2 / Amanzule Voices / The Third Perspective / Whirl of Leaves NV5814 6/30/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Martino, D.: Fantasies and Impromptus / Piano Trio / Serenata Concertante / Peyton, M.: Elegy / Homans, P.: Quintino NV5811 5/26/2009 $22.49 ($24.99)
Copland, A.: Clarinet Concerto / Mckinley, W.T.: Clarinet Duets / Concerto for 2 Clarinets NV5812 5/26/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Sacks, J.: 5Th (S)Eason / Litanies / Sagittarius Rising / Sirian Blue / Ghost Horses NV5802 4/28/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Navarette, N.: Polaris / Jenkins, K.: Palladio / Yazigi, M.: Roads / Anneken, U.: The Woods / Courduvelis, J.: Like It Is NV5808 4/28/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Spratlan, L.: In Memoriam / Streaming NV5810 4/28/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items