For John Cage, Vol. 6

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Morton Feldman’s “For John Cage” is the second of seven large-scale works dedicated to artists, a series which includes Frank O’Hara, Bunita Marcus, Christian Wolff, Stefan Wolpe, Philip Guston, and Samuel Beckett. Feldman met John Cage in 1950, at a time when Feldman’s composition studies with Stefan Wolpe had reached a kind of dead end. Cage gave him encouragement, enthusiasm and permission to be himself. They remained friends until Feldman’s death in 1987. In its austere texture, “For John Cage” gives equal weight to the violin and piano parts. The fact that the two instruments often play similar material makes the contrast between the sustained sounds of the violin and the decaying sounds of the piano especially clear. Erik Carlson and Aleck Karis are both champions of new music, and have been premiering contemporary works throughout their respective careers. Carlson is a composer in his own right, and Karis is very familiar with Morton Feldman’s compositions.
Item number BCD9498
Barcode 090404949821
Release date 1/19/2018
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Karis, Aleck
Carlson, Erik
Disc: 1
For John Cage01:37:00
1 For John Cage 01:11:46 Carlson, Erik Karis, Aleck
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like For John Cage, Vol. 6, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Grieg: Violin Sonatas Nos. 1-3
Ives: Sonatas for Violin & Piano Nos. 1-4
Brahms: Viola Sonata Nos. 1 & 2 and Scherzo in C Minor
Bland: Warm Country Night
Hindemith: Viola Sonata - Schumann: Marchenbilder BCD9016 1/1/1989 $16.99
Wuorinen: Works for Violin & Piano, 1969-1983 BCD9008 1/1/1988 $16.99
Starobin: New Music with Guitar, Vol. 1 BCD9009 1/1/1988 $16.99
Few in stock Buy +
Works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart BCD9011 1/1/1988 $16.99
Brahms & Ligeti: Horn Trios BCD9012 1/1/1988 $16.99
Few in stock Buy +
Chopin: Fantasie - Carter: Night Fantasies - Schumann: Carnaval BCD9001 1/1/1986 $16.99
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items