Four Trumpet Sonatas after Mozart

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Conceived by Jonathan Freeman-Attwood and Mozart scholar Timothy Jones, this program of four sonatas ‘by’ and ‘after’ Mozart represents a belated apology to the composer on behalf of all trumpet players. Had the trumpet developed into a chromatic solo instrument in the 1770s and 80s – like the oboe or flute – Mozart might have been inspired to write great music for the instrument. Following eight recordings for Linn of similarly re-imagined trumpet and piano music from Monteverdi to Richard Strauss, this recital is a compelling new contribution to the trumpet repertoire with four Classical-style sonatas, drawing on varied styles and periods in Mozart’s music. It exhibits canvases from the Salzburgian church sonata to the strutting swagger of a 21-year-old pianist-composer in Munich and two large mid- and late-sonatas from the golden Viennese years. Accompanying Freeman-Attwood is the multi-award-winning Polish pianist Anna Szalucka.
Item number CKD668
Barcode 691062066822
Release date 11/12/2021
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Four Trumpet Sonatas after Mozart, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.99 ($19.99)
A Bach Notebook for Trumpet
$26.99 ($29.99)
Arcangelo Corelli: Violin Sonatas, Opus 5
$17.09 ($18.99)
The Golden Section
$17.09 ($18.99)
Dvorak: Piano Quintet in A major - String Quartet in F major, "American"
The Sun King's Paradise CKD100 1/1/1999 $17.99 ($19.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Shostakovich: String Quartets Nos. 4 & 7 - Piano Quintet in G minor CKD065 1/1/1997 $17.09 ($18.99)
Bach: Trio Sonatas CKD036 1/1/1996 $17.99 ($19.99)
Out of stock
The Winged Lion CKD015 1/1/1994 $17.99 ($19.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Lutoslawski: Grave for cello and piano - Webern: Three Little Pieces, Op. 11 - Rachmaninov: Sonata in G minor for cello and piano CKD009 1/1/1992 $17.09 ($18.99)
Debussy - Martin - Poulenc: Sonatas and Ballade for Cello and Piano CKD002 1/1/1990 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items