Friedrich Gulda: Two Recitals 1959

Buy + Add To Wish List + $31.49 ($34.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
This is the fifth and final installment of the series dedicated to the complete recordings Friedrich Gulda made for the SWR and contains two recitals (live recordings) the Austrian pianist gave in Germany in 1959. All those who attended Gulda’s concerts report unanimously that a very special aura emanated from him, which was markedly stronger than the one conveyed by his recordings – the distinct impression that the music sounded as if performed for the first time in the here and now, as if he was surrounded by a musical cosmos he was coaxing the tones out of, making them audible on the grand piano (or the clavichord). Soon after a final chord Gulda would often bid farewell to the pearl-like tones he had created as if by magic and send them off into the universe with a subtle movement of his hand. This also happened in connection with the two Beethoven sonatas presented here. The fact that Gulda cherished Beethoven’s opus 110 throughout his life is by no means surprising for in this piece Beethoven really transcends all boundaries: the most heterogeneous elements are joined together to form an integrated whole – with a fugue at the end to show his reverence for Bach!
Item number SWR19098CD
Barcode 747313909889
Release date 2/12/2021
Category Classical Music
Number of units 3
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Friedrich Gulda: Two Recitals 1959, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Rihm, W.: Quid est Deus / Ungemaltes Bild / Frau/Stimme (Rihm Edition, Vol. 4)
$17.09 ($18.99)
Koechlin, C.: Piano Music, Vol. 2
$17.09 ($18.99)
Shostakovich, D.: Aphorisms / Weinberg, M.: Children's Notebooks / Nemtsov, S.: 20 Sketches
$17.09 ($18.99)
Koechlin, C.: Piano Music, Vol. 1
SCHEDRIN: Piano Terzetto / 3 Funny Pieces / Cello Sonata 93195 4/13/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
Bartok: Miraculous Mandarin (The) / Sonata for 2 Pianos and Percussion 93194 4/11/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
LESSING, Kolja: Violin Music From Israel 93126 9/9/2005 $17.09 ($18.99)
HAYDN: Sonatas, Hob.XVI:1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 34, 37, 44, 46 93081 4/22/2003 $17.09 ($18.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
BRAHMS: Tragic Overture, Op. 81 / Piano Concerto in D minor, Op. 15, arranged for piano 4 hands 93075 9/11/2002 $17.09 ($18.99)
BACEWICZ: Piano Works 93034 9/6/2001 $17.09 ($18.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items